Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Archive

History

From the early history of the Swiss National Sound Archives Foundation

Twelve years of patience

On 27 October 1972, Robert Wyler - at that time departmental manager of special collections at the Swiss National Library - wrote in a report: "The Swiss National Library heartily welcomes all efforts which lead to the establishment of a Swiss sound archives. At the moment, it has neither the personnel nor the premises to be able to carry out such a task on its own." Robert Wyler belongs to a small circle of individuals who have tirelessly done their best during more than a decade for the creation of a Swiss National Sound Archives.

It is also interesting that in his text there are deficiencies mentioned, which still exist today. For instance, there is talk about the insufficient availability of radio recordings as well as the lack of means at the Swiss Folk Song Archives and at the University of Zurich Phonogram Archives, in order to "take care of, evaluate and expand the collected material … to the desired extent". The report was in 1973 the basis for petitions to the Executive Federal Council and the Swiss Science Council, in which the establishment of a national sound archives was recommended.

In addition to Robert Wyler, Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt - at that time music department manager of the Solothurn Central Library - also made an effort for the sound archives. In the 1970's, both were members of the Sound Archives Commission of the VSB (Association of Swiss Librarians; today BBS) and SVD (Swiss Association for Documentation). The following is in a memorandum from 2 June 1976: "Two commission members - Messrs. Dürrenmatt and Wyler - are in a working group convened by the Swiss National Committee of the AIBM (Association Internationale des Bibliothèques Musicales; today ASCM), which aims to establish a national sound archives. With financial support from Pro Helvetia it will soon be possible to prepare a study on the fundamental requirements of such an institution. The Clottu Expert Commission explicitly mentions the project regarding a Swiss National Archives in its reports, and recommends it for realisation."

The so-called "Clottu Report" (Eléments pour une politique culturelle suisse) from 1975 was one of the few official documents in which the sound archives were mentioned. Two other protagonists of the sound archives history were behind this: Franz Georg Maier, Director of the National Library, and Hans Steinbeck, Director of the Swiss Music Archives at SUISA [Swiss Royalty Collection Society]. In April and May 1974 there was an exchange of letters between National Assembly Councillor Gaston Clottu, Steinbeck and Maier, in which the section concerning the sound archives was drafted in the Clottu Report.

The aforementioned study by Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt came about in the months August to October 1976, and shows an astounding wealth of details despite the short period of origin. Whereas Maier - on behalf of the National Library - submitted a positive opinion on the study in August 1977, the Swiss Department of the Interior (EDI) took more time. In a letter to Hans Steinbeck from 26 May 1978, the then department director, Hans Hürlimann, communicated that "the creation of a sound archives complies with a politico-cultural need; however, the realization of the project in the proposed sense is not possible at the moment, simply due to the absolute personnel stops ordered by parliament as well as the lack of premises." A sponsorship by the Canton and City of Bern is considered as an alternative to integration into the National Library; the attitude of the SRG [Swiss Broadcasting Corporation] vis-à-vis the project is also "decisive for the realization".

At a meeting of the interested group on 15 November 1978, the Confederation's reticence was confirmed, and the possibilities of an accommodation of the National Sound Archives in Bern under the involvement of the city and the canton were discussed.

On 3 July 1980, a prominently staffed working group of the "Bundesamt für Kulturpflege" (today's "Bundesamt für Kultur"["Federal Cultural Office"]) under the direction of Christoph Reichenau published an extensive report entitled "Swiss National Sound Archives Project". Amongst other things, it contained a draft for a deed of foundation. The Swiss Confederation, the Canton Bern, SUISA, the Swiss Performer's Society (SIG), IFPI Switzerland and SRG were named as supporting agencies.

On 30 October 1981, the EDI proposed the creation of a Swiss National Sound Archives to the Executive Federal Council; but the motion was withdrawn due to the insurmountable opposition of the Finance Department. Whereupon F.G. Maier and Frédéric Dubois (Director of the Bundesamt für Kulturpflege) advocated the granting of an investment contribution from the minting profit of the "Treaty of Stans Commemorative Taler", as well as the approval for hiring a trainee and the reservation of a solicitously furnished room in the Swiss National Library for 2-3 years. The Executive Federal Council approved a contribution of 120,000 Swiss francs in July 1982. In a discussion paper for the Executive Federal Council from September 1983, it is recorded that in December 1982 the City of Lugano agreed to make the former radio studio available. And with that events came closer to the point of realization.

The "Swiss National Sound Archives Establishment Association" was established on 14 February 1984. The statutes mention "… establishing a Swiss National Sound Archives, and subsequently entrusting this, on behalf of the Swiss Confederation, for continuation as part of the Swiss National Library" as the association's purpose. Hans Rudolf Dörig, at that time Vice-Director of the Bundesamt für Kulturpflege, was elected as president. Hans Georg Maier (Director of the National Library), André Guex-Joris (city archivist from Morges and record collector), Emmanuel Belser (SRG) and Hans Steinbeck (SUISA, Swiss Music Archives) were also members of the executive board.

On 22 March 1984, i.e. after the establishment of the association, Frédéric Dubois once again informed National Assembly Councillor Egli about the development of the situation. Egli responded very indignantly, since the national sound archives project had not been adopted in the legislative planning beforehand, and two of his chief officials - H.R. Dörig and F.G. Maier - had made themselves available as personal members of the association. He emphazised that the Executive Federal Council had been faced with a "fait accompli" as a result.

Top of page

The sound archives come into being

The real existence of the Swiss National Sound Archives began on a late-summer day - 17 August 1984 - in Morges with the first general assembly of the establishment association. The executive board was complemented by Armando Zoppi (Lugano communal secretary) and Vital Hauser (SIG director) at this assembly. In addition, an advisory board - with Jacques Goy (sound technician at Radio Suisse Romande), Clau Solèr (from the University of Zurich Phonogram Archives), Ticino composer Carlo Florindo Semini (who had advocated accommodation of the sound archives in Ticino) as well as Robert Wyler and Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt - was appointed. Kurt Deggeller was ultimately elected as director.

At that time, the financial basis of the enterprise consisted of two one-time contributions: 120,000 francs from the Confederation's minting profit and 100,000 francs from SUISA. Financial assistance from the Confederation was not to be expected before 1988, the beginning of a new financial planning period. The City of Lugano provided free premises in the former radio studio, and had approved a credit of 112,000 francs for their conversion. The amount was later increased to 163,000 francs, since the floor of the archivse room had to be reinforced. The conversion was concluded in the autumn of 1985 and inaugurated on 30 October with a small ceremony, at which - in addition to president Dörig and the director - the vice-mayor of Lugano, Benedetto Bonaglia, also spoke.

On the political level, the then Ticino National Assembly Councillor Mario Grassi had submitted a postulate, with which the Executive Federal Council was invited to examine in which form the Swiss National Sound Archives could be adequately supported. The postulate was accepted in February 1986 by the Executive Federal Council and adopted by the National Assembly in the spring session. In addition, a meeting was held with the Ticino Canton Cultural Commission, with the result that the canton approved a one-time starting-up aid of 100,000 francs for 1987 and a regular operational contribution of 50,000 francs starting in 1988. At the second general assembly on 8 March 1985 in the National Library in Bern, the president, Hans Rudolf Dörig, was also able to hold out the prospect of annual support through the Confederation (400,000 francs) starting in 1988. The executive board was complemented by Jürg Rohrdorf, Director of IFPI Switzerland.

With these commitments it was necessary to take the responsibility to hire two part-time employees in February 1986: Mrs. Ombretta Fontana (documentation) and Stefano Cavaglieri (technology). They have remained faithful to the sound archives to this very day, and have also contributed in the most meritorious manner to the build-up and operation of the institute.

The participation in the National Research Programme 16 "Methods for Preservation of Cultural Assets" was a substantial help during the financial bridging of the years 1986 and 1987. The project entitled "Historic Sound Documents of Switzerland: Information, Documentation, Restoration" - which ran from January 1986 to December 1987, and was endowed with 200,000 francs - allowed the build-up of proficiencies in the technical and documentary realm. The highlight was an international colloquium on the theme "History, Preservation and Restoration of Historic Sound Storage Medium", which was held from 28 to 30 October 1986 in Lugano - and at which, amongst others, Marie-France Calas (the then Directors of the French Phonothèque Nationale), and Dietrich Schüller (Director of the Phonogram Archives of the Austrian Academy of Sciences) also took part.

In June 1986, the executive board decided to convert the association into a foundation. The establishment of the foundation took place on the occasion of the session from 18 May 1987 in Lugano with the adoption of the memorandum of association and with the notarial authentication of 24 November 1987. The Confederation did not act as founder, but received a seat in the Foundation Council. In addition to the Canton Ticino and the City of Lugano, the SRG as well as the royalty collection societies SUISA, SIG and IFPI also joined the foundation. It was endowed with a capital of 5,000 francs. Giancarlo Viscardi (member of the Lugano municipal government) was elected as the first president of the Foundation Council.

Top of page

The first Board of Trustees consisted of

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Archiv

Geschichte

Aus der Vorgeschichte der Stiftung Schweizerische Nationalphonothek

Zwölf Jahre Geduld

Am 27. Oktober 1972 schrieb Robert Wyler, damals Leiter der Abteilung Sondersammlungen der Schweizerischen Landesbibliothek in einem Bericht: "Die Schweizerische Landsbibliothek begrüsst alle Anstrengungen sehr, die zur Gründung einer schweizerischen Phonothek führen. Weder verfügt sie gegenwärtig über das Personal noch über die Räumlichkeiten, um eine solche Aufgabe von sich aus durchführen zum können."
Robert Wyler gehört zum kleinen Kreis jener Personen, die sich während mehr als eines Jahrzehnts unermüdlich für die Schaffung einer Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek eingesetzt haben.

Interessant ist auch, dass in seinem Text Defizite benannt werden, die heute immer noch bestehen: so ist von der unzureichenden Zugänglichkeit von Radioaufnahmen die Rede und von den mangelnden Mitteln beim Schweizerischen Volksliedarchiv und beim Phonogrammarchiv der Universität Zürich um "das von ihnen gesammelte Material ... in gewünschtem Ausmass zu betreuen, auszuwerten und zu erweitern." Der Bericht war 1973 die Grundlage für Eingaben an den Bundesrat und an den Schweizerischen Wissenschaftsrat, in denen die Gründung einer Nationalphonothek empfohlen wurde.

Neben Robert Wyler bemühte sich Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt, damals Leiter der Musikabteilung der Zentralbibliothek Solothurn, um die Phonothek. Beide waren in den Siebzigerjahren Mitglieder der Phonothekenkommission des VSB (Vereinigung Schweizerischer Bibliothekare - heute BBS) und SVD (Schweizerische Vereinigung für Dokumentation). In einer Notiz vom 2. Juni 1976 steht: "zwei Mitglieder der Kommission - die Herren Dürrenmatt und Wyler - sind in einem von der Landesgruppe Schweiz der AIBM (Association Internationale des Bibliothèques Musicales - heute ASCM) zusammengerufenen Arbeitskreis vertreten, welcher die Gründung einer Nationalen Phonothek zum Ziel hat. Mit finanzieller Unterstützung von Pro Helvetia wird es demnächst möglich sein, eine Studie über die grundlegenden Erfordernisse einer solchen Institution zu erstellen. Die Expertenkommission Clottu erwähnt das Projekt einer Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek in ihrem Bericht ausdrücklich und empfiehlt es zur Verwirklichung."

Der sogenannte Clottu-Bericht (Eléments pour une politique culturelle suisse) von 1975 war eines der wenigen offiziellen Dokumente, in dem die Phonothek erwähnt wurde. Dahinter standen zwei weitere Protagonisten der Phonotheksgeschichte: Franz Georg Maier, Direktor der Landesbibliothek und Hans Steinbeck, Leiter das Schweizerischen Musikarchivs bei der SUISA. Im April und Mai 1974 fand ein Briefwechsel zwischen Nationalrat Gaston Clottu und Steinbeck bezw. Maier statt, in dem der Abschnitt über die Phonothek im Clottu-Bericht entworfen wurde.

Die oben erwähnte Studie von Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt entstand in den Monaten August bis Oktober 1976 und weist trotz der kurzen Entstehungszeit eine erstaunliche Fülle von Einzelheiten auf. Während Maier im Namen der Landesbibliothek im August 1977 eine positive Stellungnahme zur Studie abgab, nahm sich das Eidgenössische Departement des Innern (EDI) mehr Zeit. In einem Brief an Hans Steinbeck vom 26. Mai 1978 teilte der damalige Departementsvorsteher, Hans Hürlimann, mit, dass "die Schaffung einer Phonothek einem kulturpolitischen Bedürfnis entspreche, dass [jedoch] die Realisierung des Vorhabens im vorgeschlagenen Sinne im Augenblick allein schon infolge des vom Parlament verfügten absoluten Personalstopps und der fehlenden Räumlichkeiten nicht möglich sei." Als Alternative zur Eingliederung in die Landesbibliothek wird eine Trägerschaft des Kantons und der Stadt Bern erwogen, auch sei die Haltung der SRG gegenüber dem Projekt "entscheidend für die Realisierung".

Bei einem Treffen der interessierten Kreise vom 15. November 1978 wurde die Zurückhaltung des Bundes bestätigt und die Möglichkeiten einer Unterbringung der Nationalphonothek in Bern unter Beteiligung der Stadt und des Kantons erörtert.

Eine prominent besetzte Arbeitsgruppe des Bundesamtes für Kulturpflege (heute Bundesamt für Kultur) unter der Leitung von Christoph Reichenau veröffentlichte am 3. Juli 1980 einen umfangreichen Bericht mit dem Titel "Projekt Schweizerische Nationalphonothek". Er enthält unter anderem den Entwurf zu einer Stiftungsurkunde. Als Stiftungsträger wurden die Eidgenossenschaft, der Kanton Bern, die SUISA, die Schweizerische Interpretengesellschaft (SIG), die IFPI Schweiz und die SRG genannt.

Am 30. Oktober 1981 schlug das EDI dem Bundesrat die Schaffung einer Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek vor; der Antrag wurde aber wegen unüberwindlicher Widerstände des Finanzdepartements zurückgezogen. Daraufhin setzten sich F.G. Maier und der Direktor des Bundesamtes für Kulturpflege, Frédéric Dubois, für die Gewährung eines Investitionsbeitrags aus dem Prägegewinn des Stanser-Verkommnis-Talers ein, sowie für die Bewilligung zur Anstellung eines Praktikanten und die Freihaltung des vorsorglich in der Schweizerischen Landesbibliothek eingerichteten Raumes für 2-3 Jahre. Im Juli 1982 bewilligte der Bundesrat einen Beitrag von 120'000 Fr. In einem Aussprachepapier für den Bundesrat vom September 1983 wird festgehalten, dass sich die Stadt Lugano im Dezember 1982 bereit erklärt habe, das ehemalige Radiostudio zur Verfügung zu stellen. Damit war man dem Punkt der Realisierung nahe gekommen.

Am 14. Februar 1984 wurde der "Aufbauverein Schweizerische Nationalphonothek" gegründet. Als Zweck des Vereins nennen die Statuten "... eine Schweizerische Landsphonothek aufzubauen und diese anschliessend der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft als Teil der Schweizerischen Landesbibliothek zur Weiterführung anzuvertrauen". Zum Präsidenten wurde Hans Rudolf Dörig gewählt, damals Vizedirektor des Bundesamtes für Kulturpflege. Dem Vorstand gehörten ausserdem Hans Georg Maier, Direktor der Landesbibliothek, André Guex-Joris (Stadtarchivar von Morges und Schallplattensammler), Emmanuel Belser (SRG) und Hans Steinbeck (SUISA, Schweizerisches Musikarchiv) an.

Am 22. März 1984, also nach der Vereinsgründung, berichtete Frédéric Dubois Bundesrat Egli nochmals schriftlich über die Entwicklung der Situation. Egli reagiert sehr ungehalten, da zuvor das Vorhaben Nationalphonothek nicht in die Legislaturplanung aufgenommen worden war und sich zwei seiner Chefbeamten, H.R. Dörig und F.G. Maier, trotzdem als persönliche Mitglieder dem Verein zur Verfügung gestellt hatten. Er betonte, damit sei der Bundesrat vor ein "fait accompli" gestellt worden.

Die Phonothek entsteht

Die reale Existenz der Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek begann an einem Spätsommertag, dem 17. August des Jahres 1984, in Morges mit der ersten Generalversammlung des Aufbauvereins. An dieser Versammlung wurde der Vorstand durch Armando Zoppi, Segretario comunale der Stadt Lugano, und Vital Hauser, Direktor der Schweizerischen Interpretengesellschaft, ergänzt. Ausserdem wurde ein Beirat mit Jacques Goy, Tontechniker bei Radio Suisse Romande, Clau Solèr vom Phonogrammarchiv der Universität Zürich, dem Tessiner Komponisten Carlo Florindo Semini, der sich für eine Ansiedlung der Phonothek im Tessin eingesetzt hatte, sowie Robert Wyler und Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt ernannt. Schliesslich wurde Kurt Deggeller zum Direktor gewählt.

Die finanzielle Basis des Unternehmens bestand zu jener Zeit aus zwei einmaligen Beiträgen: 120'000 Fr. aus dem Prägegewinn des Bundes und 100'000 Fr. von der SUISA. Eine Finanzhilfe des Bundes war nicht vor 1988, dem Beginn einer neuen Finanzplanperiode, zu erwarten. Die Stadt Lugano stellte Räumlichkeiten im ehemaligen Radiostudio kostenlos zur Verfügung und hatte einen Kredit von 112'000 Fr. für deren Umbau bewilligt. Der Betrag wurde später auf 163'000 Fr. erhöht, da der Boden des Archivraums verstärkt werden musste. Der Umbau wurde im Herbst 1985 abgeschlossen und am 30. Oktober mit einer kleinen Feier eingeweiht, an der neben dem Präsidenten Dörig und dem Direktor auch der damalige Vice-Sindaco von Lugano, Benedetto Bonaglia, das Wort ergriff.

Auf der politischen Ebene hatte der damalige Tessiner Nationalrat Mario Grassi ein Postulat eingereicht, mit dem der Bundesrat eingeladen wurde, zu prüfen, in welcher Form die Schweizerische Nationalphonothek angemessen unterstützt werden könnte. Das Postulat wurde im Februar 1986 vom Bundesrat entgegengenommen und in der Frühjahrssession vom Nationalrat verabschiedet. Ausserdem fand ein Treffen mit der Kulturkommission des Kantons Tessin statt mit dem Ergebnis, dass der Kanton für 1987 eine einmalige Starthilfe von 100'000 Fr. und ab 1988 einen regelmässigen Betriebsbeitrag von 50'000 Fr. Bewilligte. An der zweiten Generalversammlung vom 8. März 1985 in der Landesbibliothek in Bern konnte der Präsident, Hans Rudolf Dörig, auch eine jährliche Unterstützung durch den Bund von 400'000 Fr. ab 1988 in Aussicht stellen. Der Vorstand wurde durch Jürg Rohrdorf, Direktor der IFPI Schweiz, ergänzt.

Mit diesen Zusagen war es zu verantworten, im Februar 1986 zwei Mitarbeitende teilzeitlich einzustellen: Frau Ombretta Fontana für den Bereich Dokumentation und Stefano Cavaglieri für die Technik. Sie sind bis heute der Phonothek treu geblieben und haben in höchst verdienstvoller Weise zum Aufbau und Betrieb des Instituts beigetragen.

Eine wesentliche Hilfe bei der finanziellen Überbrückung der Jahre 1986 und 87 war die Teilnahme am Nationalen Forschungsprogramm 16 "Methoden zur Erhaltung von Kulturgütern". Das Projekt mit dem Titel "Historische Tondokumente der Schweiz: Information, Dokumentation, Restaurierung" , das von Januar 1986 bis Dezember 1987 lief und mit 200'000 Fr. ausgestattet war, erlaubte den Aufbau von Kompetenzen im technischen und dokumentarischen Bereich. Höhepunkt war ein internationales Kolloquium zum Thema "Geschichte, Erhaltung und Restaurierung historischer Tonträger", das vom 28. bis 30. Oktober 1986 in Lugano stattfand und an dem sich u.a. die damalige Direktorin der französischen Phonothèque Nationale, Marie-France Calas, und der Direktor des Phonogrammarchivs der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, Dietrich Schüller, beteiligten.

Im Juni 1986 beschloss der Vorstand, den Verein in eine Stiftung umzuwandeln. Die Stiftungsgründung erfolgte anlässlich der Sitzung vom 18. Mai 1987 in Lugano mit der Verabschiedung der Statuten, und mit der notariellen Beurkundung vom 24. November 1987. Der Bund trat nicht als Stifter auf, erhielt aber einen Sitz im Stiftungsrat. Neben dem Kanton Tessin und der Stadt Lugano beteiligten sich auch die SRG sowie die Verwertungsgesellschaften SUISA, SIG und IFPI an der Stiftung. Sie wurde mit einem Kapital von 5000.- Fr. ausgestattet. Zum ersten Präsidenten des Stiftungsrats wurde Giancarlo Viscardi, Mitglied der Stadtregierung von Lugano, gewählt.

Die erste Stiftungsrat wurde gebildet von:

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Eidgenössisches Departement des Innern EDI - Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek NB


© Schweizerische Nationalphonothek. Alle Rechte der elektronischen Veröffentlichung sind der Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek, Lugano, vorbehalten. Die kommerzielle Verwendung der Informationen ist untersagt.
Elektronisch publizierte Informationen und Zitate unterliegen den gleichen Regeln wie gedruckte Texte. Es gilt das Schweizerische Urheberrechtsgesetz (URG). Für Copyright und Zitierregeln siehe: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_de.htm

URL: