Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Archive

History

From the early history of the Swiss National Sound Archives Foundation

Twelve years of patience

On 27 October 1972, Robert Wyler - at that time departmental manager of special collections at the Swiss National Library - wrote in a report: "The Swiss National Library heartily welcomes all efforts which lead to the establishment of a Swiss sound archives. At the moment, it has neither the personnel nor the premises to be able to carry out such a task on its own." Robert Wyler belongs to a small circle of individuals who have tirelessly done their best during more than a decade for the creation of a Swiss National Sound Archives.

It is also interesting that in his text there are deficiencies mentioned, which still exist today. For instance, there is talk about the insufficient availability of radio recordings as well as the lack of means at the Swiss Folk Song Archives and at the University of Zurich Phonogram Archives, in order to "take care of, evaluate and expand the collected material … to the desired extent". The report was in 1973 the basis for petitions to the Executive Federal Council and the Swiss Science Council, in which the establishment of a national sound archives was recommended.

In addition to Robert Wyler, Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt - at that time music department manager of the Solothurn Central Library - also made an effort for the sound archives. In the 1970's, both were members of the Sound Archives Commission of the VSB (Association of Swiss Librarians; today BBS) and SVD (Swiss Association for Documentation). The following is in a memorandum from 2 June 1976: "Two commission members - Messrs. Dürrenmatt and Wyler - are in a working group convened by the Swiss National Committee of the AIBM (Association Internationale des Bibliothèques Musicales; today ASCM), which aims to establish a national sound archives. With financial support from Pro Helvetia it will soon be possible to prepare a study on the fundamental requirements of such an institution. The Clottu Expert Commission explicitly mentions the project regarding a Swiss National Archives in its reports, and recommends it for realisation."

The so-called "Clottu Report" (Eléments pour une politique culturelle suisse) from 1975 was one of the few official documents in which the sound archives were mentioned. Two other protagonists of the sound archives history were behind this: Franz Georg Maier, Director of the National Library, and Hans Steinbeck, Director of the Swiss Music Archives at SUISA [Swiss Royalty Collection Society]. In April and May 1974 there was an exchange of letters between National Assembly Councillor Gaston Clottu, Steinbeck and Maier, in which the section concerning the sound archives was drafted in the Clottu Report.

The aforementioned study by Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt came about in the months August to October 1976, and shows an astounding wealth of details despite the short period of origin. Whereas Maier - on behalf of the National Library - submitted a positive opinion on the study in August 1977, the Swiss Department of the Interior (EDI) took more time. In a letter to Hans Steinbeck from 26 May 1978, the then department director, Hans Hürlimann, communicated that "the creation of a sound archives complies with a politico-cultural need; however, the realization of the project in the proposed sense is not possible at the moment, simply due to the absolute personnel stops ordered by parliament as well as the lack of premises." A sponsorship by the Canton and City of Bern is considered as an alternative to integration into the National Library; the attitude of the SRG [Swiss Broadcasting Corporation] vis-à-vis the project is also "decisive for the realization".

At a meeting of the interested group on 15 November 1978, the Confederation's reticence was confirmed, and the possibilities of an accommodation of the National Sound Archives in Bern under the involvement of the city and the canton were discussed.

On 3 July 1980, a prominently staffed working group of the "Bundesamt für Kulturpflege" (today's "Bundesamt für Kultur"["Federal Cultural Office"]) under the direction of Christoph Reichenau published an extensive report entitled "Swiss National Sound Archives Project". Amongst other things, it contained a draft for a deed of foundation. The Swiss Confederation, the Canton Bern, SUISA, the Swiss Performer's Society (SIG), IFPI Switzerland and SRG were named as supporting agencies.

On 30 October 1981, the EDI proposed the creation of a Swiss National Sound Archives to the Executive Federal Council; but the motion was withdrawn due to the insurmountable opposition of the Finance Department. Whereupon F.G. Maier and Frédéric Dubois (Director of the Bundesamt für Kulturpflege) advocated the granting of an investment contribution from the minting profit of the "Treaty of Stans Commemorative Taler", as well as the approval for hiring a trainee and the reservation of a solicitously furnished room in the Swiss National Library for 2-3 years. The Executive Federal Council approved a contribution of 120,000 Swiss francs in July 1982. In a discussion paper for the Executive Federal Council from September 1983, it is recorded that in December 1982 the City of Lugano agreed to make the former radio studio available. And with that events came closer to the point of realization.

The "Swiss National Sound Archives Establishment Association" was established on 14 February 1984. The statutes mention "… establishing a Swiss National Sound Archives, and subsequently entrusting this, on behalf of the Swiss Confederation, for continuation as part of the Swiss National Library" as the association's purpose. Hans Rudolf Dörig, at that time Vice-Director of the Bundesamt für Kulturpflege, was elected as president. Hans Georg Maier (Director of the National Library), André Guex-Joris (city archivist from Morges and record collector), Emmanuel Belser (SRG) and Hans Steinbeck (SUISA, Swiss Music Archives) were also members of the executive board.

On 22 March 1984, i.e. after the establishment of the association, Frédéric Dubois once again informed National Assembly Councillor Egli about the development of the situation. Egli responded very indignantly, since the national sound archives project had not been adopted in the legislative planning beforehand, and two of his chief officials - H.R. Dörig and F.G. Maier - had made themselves available as personal members of the association. He emphazised that the Executive Federal Council had been faced with a "fait accompli" as a result.

Top of page

The sound archives come into being

The real existence of the Swiss National Sound Archives began on a late-summer day - 17 August 1984 - in Morges with the first general assembly of the establishment association. The executive board was complemented by Armando Zoppi (Lugano communal secretary) and Vital Hauser (SIG director) at this assembly. In addition, an advisory board - with Jacques Goy (sound technician at Radio Suisse Romande), Clau Solèr (from the University of Zurich Phonogram Archives), Ticino composer Carlo Florindo Semini (who had advocated accommodation of the sound archives in Ticino) as well as Robert Wyler and Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt - was appointed. Kurt Deggeller was ultimately elected as director.

At that time, the financial basis of the enterprise consisted of two one-time contributions: 120,000 francs from the Confederation's minting profit and 100,000 francs from SUISA. Financial assistance from the Confederation was not to be expected before 1988, the beginning of a new financial planning period. The City of Lugano provided free premises in the former radio studio, and had approved a credit of 112,000 francs for their conversion. The amount was later increased to 163,000 francs, since the floor of the archivse room had to be reinforced. The conversion was concluded in the autumn of 1985 and inaugurated on 30 October with a small ceremony, at which - in addition to president Dörig and the director - the vice-mayor of Lugano, Benedetto Bonaglia, also spoke.

On the political level, the then Ticino National Assembly Councillor Mario Grassi had submitted a postulate, with which the Executive Federal Council was invited to examine in which form the Swiss National Sound Archives could be adequately supported. The postulate was accepted in February 1986 by the Executive Federal Council and adopted by the National Assembly in the spring session. In addition, a meeting was held with the Ticino Canton Cultural Commission, with the result that the canton approved a one-time starting-up aid of 100,000 francs for 1987 and a regular operational contribution of 50,000 francs starting in 1988. At the second general assembly on 8 March 1985 in the National Library in Bern, the president, Hans Rudolf Dörig, was also able to hold out the prospect of annual support through the Confederation (400,000 francs) starting in 1988. The executive board was complemented by Jürg Rohrdorf, Director of IFPI Switzerland.

With these commitments it was necessary to take the responsibility to hire two part-time employees in February 1986: Mrs. Ombretta Fontana (documentation) and Stefano Cavaglieri (technology). They have remained faithful to the sound archives to this very day, and have also contributed in the most meritorious manner to the build-up and operation of the institute.

The participation in the National Research Programme 16 "Methods for Preservation of Cultural Assets" was a substantial help during the financial bridging of the years 1986 and 1987. The project entitled "Historic Sound Documents of Switzerland: Information, Documentation, Restoration" - which ran from January 1986 to December 1987, and was endowed with 200,000 francs - allowed the build-up of proficiencies in the technical and documentary realm. The highlight was an international colloquium on the theme "History, Preservation and Restoration of Historic Sound Storage Medium", which was held from 28 to 30 October 1986 in Lugano - and at which, amongst others, Marie-France Calas (the then Directors of the French Phonothèque Nationale), and Dietrich Schüller (Director of the Phonogram Archives of the Austrian Academy of Sciences) also took part.

In June 1986, the executive board decided to convert the association into a foundation. The establishment of the foundation took place on the occasion of the session from 18 May 1987 in Lugano with the adoption of the memorandum of association and with the notarial authentication of 24 November 1987. The Confederation did not act as founder, but received a seat in the Foundation Council. In addition to the Canton Ticino and the City of Lugano, the SRG as well as the royalty collection societies SUISA, SIG and IFPI also joined the foundation. It was endowed with a capital of 5,000 francs. Giancarlo Viscardi (member of the Lugano municipal government) was elected as the first president of the Foundation Council.

Top of page

The first Board of Trustees consisted of

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Archive

Histoire

Extraits de la genèse de la Fondation Phonothèque nationale suisse

Douze ans de persévérance

Le 27 octobre 1972, Robert Wyler, alors directeur de la section Collections spéciales de la Bibliothèque nationale Suisse, écrit dans un rapport: "La Bibliothèque nationale Suisse soutient activement toutes les démarches qui peuvent aboutir à la fondation d'une phonothèque suisse. Pour le moment, elle ne dispose ni du personnel, ni des locaux pour pouvoir réaliser elle-même un tel projet."
Robert Wyler fait partie du cercle restreint des personnes qui se sont activement engagées pendant plus d'une décennie pour la création d'une Phonothèque nationale suisse.

Il est intéressant de constater que des déficits sont mentionnés dans son texte qui existent encore aujourd'hui: l'accès insuffisant aux enregistrements ou le manque de fonds chez l'Archive suisse des chansons populaires et chez l'Archive des phonogrammes de l'Université de Zurich afin "de permettre de soigner, de valoriser et d'élargir comme il se doit le matériel qu'ils ont accumulé." Ce rapport a été, en 1973, à la base des pétitions au Conseil fédéral et au Conseil scientifique suisse en faveur de la fondation d'une Phonothèque nationale suisse.

A part Robert Wyler, Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt, alors Directeur de la section musique de la Bibliothèque centrale de Soleure, s'engageait lui aussi pour la phonothèque. Dans les années septante, tous deux étaient membre de la Commission pour une phonothèque de l'ABS (Association des bibliothécaires suisses - aujourd'hui la BBS) et de l'ASD (Association suisse pour la documentation). Citons une note du 2 juin 1976: "deux membres de la Commission - les Messieurs Dürrenmatt et Wyler - sont représentés dans un groupe de travail créé par la section suisse de l'AIBM (Association Internationale des bibliothèques Musicales, aujourd'hui ASCM) qui a pour but la création d'une Phonothèque nationale. Avec le soutien financier de Pro Helvetia il sera prochainement possible d'établir une étude sur les exigences fondamentales d'une telle institution. La Commission d'experts Clottu évoque explicitement le projet d'une Phonothèque nationale suisse dans son rapport et en recommande la réalisation."

Ledit rapport Clottu (Eléments pour une politique culturelle suisse) de 1975 fut un des rares documents officiels dans lequel la phonothèque est mentionnée. Les initiateurs étaient deux autres protagonistes de l'histoire de la phonothèque: Franz Georg Maier, Directeur de la Bibliothèque nationale et Hans Steinbeck, responsable de l'archive musical suisse de la SUISA. En avril et mai 1974, il y'eut un échange de lettres entre le Conseiller national Gaston Clottu et Steinbeck, respectivement Maier, dans lequel fut élaboré la section concernant la phonothèque du rapport Clottu.

L'étude de Hans Rudolf Dürrenmatt citée ci-dessus fut élaborée pendant les mois de août à octobre 1976 et contient, malgré le peu de temps à disposition, une abondance étonnante de détails. Tandis que Maier exprima, au nom de la Bibliothèque nationale, une prise de position positive a l'égard de cette étude en août 1977, le Département fédéral de l'intérieur (DFI) prenait plus de temps.

Dans une lettre à Hans Steinbeck du 26 mai 1978, l'alors dirigeant du Département, Hans Hürlimann, lui faisait part que "la création d'une phonothèque correspondait bien à une nécessité de la politique culturelle, mais que la réalisation de ce projet selon la proposition était actuellement exclue, d'une part à cause de la défense absolue d'engager du personnel décidée par le Parlement et aussi à cause du manque de locaux." Comme alternative à l'intégration dans la Bibliothèque nationale, un parrainage par le Canton et la ville de Berne sera pris en considération, et la position de la SSR sur le projet "sera décisive pour sa réalisation".

Lors d'une réunion des groupes intéressés du 15 novembre 1978, la réticence de la Confédération est confirmée et les possibilités de placer la phonothèque nationale à Berne avec la participation de la ville et du Canton sont évoquées.

Un groupe de travail de l'Office fédéral de la culture, composé de personnes hautement qualifiées sous la direction de Christoph Reichenau, a publié le 3 juillet 1980 un rapport volumineux sous le titre "Projet d'une phonothèque nationale". Il contient entre autre l'esquisse d'un acte de fondation. Sont mentionnés comme membres fondateurs: la Confédération, le Canton de Berne, la SUISA, la Société suisse des interprètes (SIG), la IFPI Suisse et la SSR.

Le 30 octobre, le DFI proposait la création d'une Phonothèque nationale suisse au Conseil fédéral ; Mais la proposition fut retirée à cause de l'opposition insurmontable du Département des finances. Alors, F.G.Maier et le Directeur de l'Office fédéral de la culture, Frédéric Dubois, s'engagent pour l'allocation d'une contribution d'investissement prélevée sur le bénéfice de la frappe des monnaies de commémoration de l'accord de Stans, ainsi que pour l'accord d'engager un stagiaire et pour garder libre l'espace arrangé par précaution dans la Bibliothèque nationale pendant 2-3 ans. En juillet 1982, le Conseil fédéral alloue un montant de 120'000 Fr. Dans un papier de discussion pour le Conseil fédéral de septembre 1983, il est mentionné que la ville de Lugano s'était déclarée prête en décembre 1982 de mettre à disposition les anciens locaux de la radio. Sur ces bases, on était proche de la réalisation.

Le 14 février 1984, l'"Association pour la constitution de la Phonothèque nationale suisse" est fondée. Dans les statuts, le but de l'Association est de "construire une Phonothèque nationale suisse et de la confier ensuite à la Confédération comme élément de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse afin de continuer son activité". Hans Rudolf Dörig, alors Vice directeur de l'Office fédéral de la culture, est élu Président. Font aussi partie du Comité: Hans Georg Maier, Directeur de la Bibliothèque nationale, André Guex-Joris (archiviste de la commune de Morges et collectionneur de disques), Emmanuel Belser (SSR) et Hans Steinbeck (SUISA, archive suisse de la musique).

Le 22 mars 1984, donc après la fondation de l'Association, Frédéric Dubois informait une nouvelle fois par écrit le Conseiller fédéral Egli sur le développement de la situation. Egli réagit très fâché parce que le projet de la phonothèque nationale n'avait pas été préalablement inséré dans la planification de la législature et parce que deux de ses fonctionnaires en chef, H.R. Dörig et F.G. Maier, s'étaient malgré tout mis à disposition de l'Association comme membres ad personam. Il insistait que le Conseil fédéral avait ainsi été confronté avec un fait accompli.

La Phonothèque prend forme

L'existence réelle de la Phonothèque nationale suisse débuta un jour d'été indien, le 17 août 1984 à Morges où eut lieu la première Assemblée générale de l'Association. Lors de cette assemblée, le Comité a été complété avec Armando Zoppi, Secrétaire communal de la ville de Lugano et Vital Hauser, Directeur de la Société suisse des interprètes. En outre, un Comité consultatif a été constitué avec: Jacques Goy, technicien du son de la Radio Suisse Romande, Clau Solèr de l'archive des phonogrammes de l'Université de Zurich, Carlo Florindo Semini, compositeur tessinois qui s'était engagé pour l'implantation de la phonothèque au Tessin, ainsi que Robert Wyler et Hans-Rudolf Dürrenmatt. Kurt Deggeller fut enfin élu comme Directeur.

La base financière de l'opération était alors constituée par deux contributions extraordinaires : 120'000 Fr. du bénéfice de frappe de la Confédération et 100'000 Fr. de la SUISA. Une aide financière de la Confédération ne pouvait pas être prévue avant 1988, début d'une nouvelle période de planification financière. La ville de Lugano avait gratuitement mis à disposition des locaux dans l'ancien studio de la radio et alloué un crédit de 112'000 Fr. pour sa restructuration. Plus tard, cette somme a été augmenté à 163'000 Fr. pour renforcer le sol du local des archives. La restructuration des locaux fut terminée en automne 1985 et l'inauguration eut lieu le 30 octobre avec une modeste cérémonie et les discours du Président Dörig et du Directeur, ainsi que de l'alors vice-maire de Lugano, Benedetto Bonaglia.

Au niveau politique, l'alors Conseiller national tessinois Mario Grassi avait déposé un postulat invitant le Conseil fédéral à examiner comment la Phonothèque nationale suisse pouvait être soutenue de manière adéquate. Le postulat a été reçu par le Conseil fédéral en février 1986 et approuvé par le Conseil national pendant la session de printemps. En outre, une réunion avec la Commission pour la culture du Canton du Tessin a eu comme résultat que le Canton accordait pour 1987 une aide de mise en train extraordinaire de 100'000 Fr. et, à partir de 1988, une contribution régulière. Lors de la deuxième Assemblée générale du 8 mars 1985 dans la Bibliothèque nationale à Berne, le Président, Hans Rudolf Dörig, put aussi annoncer un soutien annuel de la Confédération de 400'000 Fr. à partir de 1988. Jürg Rohrdorf, Directeur de la IFPI Suisse, fut élu dans le Comité.

Grâce à ces promesses, l'engagement de deux collaborateurs en février 1986 pouvait être justifié: Madame Ombretta Fontana pour le domaine de la documentation et Stefano Cavaglieri pour la technique. Tout deux sont restés fidèles à la Phonothèque jusqu'à aujourd'hui et ont contribué de manière très méritoire à la construction et à l'exploitation de l'institution.

La participation au Programme national de recherche No.16 "Méthodes pour la sauvegarde des biens culturels" a permis de surmonter de manière substantielle les problèmes financiers des années 1986 et 1987. Le projet intitulé "Documents sonores historiques de la Suisse: information, documentation, restauration "qui a duré de janvier 1986 à décembre 1987 et qui était doté de 200'000 Fr. a permis de constituer des compétences au niveau technique et documentaire. Le point culminant a été un séminaire international sur le thème "histoire, conservation et restauration de supports sonores historiques" qui a eu lieu à Lugano du 28 au 30 octobre 1986 et auquel ont participé, entre autres, l'alors Directrice de la Phonothèque Nationale française, Marie-France Calas, et le Directeur de l'archive des phonogrammes de l'Académie des sciences de l'Autriche, Dietrich Schüller.

En juin 1986, le Comité décida de transformer l'Association en une fondation. La création de la Fondation eut lieu au cours de la séance du 18 mai 1987 à Lugano avec l'acceptation des statuts et avec l'authentification notariée du 24 novembre 1987. La Confédération n'apparut pas comme fondatrice mais reçut un siège au Conseil de la Fondation. Outre le Canton du Tessin et la commune de Lugano, la SSR et les sociétés d'utilisation SUISA, SIG et IFPI ont aussi participé à la Fondation. Elle a été doté d'un capital de 5'000 Fr. Giancarlo Viscardi, membre du Conseil communal de Lugano , a été élu premier Président du Conseil de la Fondation.

Le premier Conseil de fondation était constitué de:

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: