Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Preservation

Handling of sound carriers - Practical suggestions

Remarks on discs

"Acetates"

This type of disc was commonly used for instant recordings before being replaced by the magnetic wire or tape. It was conceived as a compromise offering facility of recording and reproduction, but this advantage was offset by negative effects on the long-term preservation of the carrier. The composition of these discs has changed considerably over the years, progressing from wax to ethylcellulose, to acetylcellulose and, lastly, to nitrocellulose.

The shellac disc

Shellac, or an equivalent material, was used for pressing 78rpm discs with a normal groove (lateral or vertical cutting). In this case too, there were different construction processes, but these carriers also were characterized by their variable duration over time.

The plastic disc

As long-playing discs, or microgroove discs, are composed almost exclusively of synthetic material, they cannot be considered as a mere improvement of shellac discs. They are made of polyvinylchloride (PVC) or polystyrene. The most important agents causing chemical degradation of PVC discs are exposure to ultraviolet rays (UV) and heat. For polystyrene discs, instead, there is a risk of oxidation.

The optical disc

The optical disc is decidedly the most stable of all the discs considered so far. Normally, it consists of a base of transparent polycarbonate. The information is recorded on the upper surface of this material. This face is then covered with a thin reflecting metallic layer and, in turn, this is covered with a layer of protective lacquer on which the label is printed. The most interesting element of this construction technique is that the surface of the disc is physically separated from the surface on which the information is recorded, so the precise focusing of the latter makes the presence of any anomalies (dirt, scratches, ...) on the disc irrelevant.

The magneto-optical disc

In this context, it is necessary to mention also magneto-optical discs. Used originally in the computer world to store data, they have increasingly lost importance with the dramatic increase of capacity of the hard disc (HDD). They continue to survive in the commercial world in the (re-writable) MiniDisc format.

 

Remarks on tapes

The magnetic tape was introduced immediately after the Second World War. By 1950, its degree of reliability was such that it completely replaced the acetate disc for direct recordings.

Each magnetic tape (reel or cassette, audio or video) consists of a carriering base (paper, acetylcellulose, PVC, PET, ...) onto which is fixed a layer of magnetic particles (Fe3O4, Fe2O3, CrO2, ...). From the structural standpoint, it is therefore exposed to the same risks as other sound carriers, with some additions characterized by the shape and the particular system of recording and reproduction.

 

Causes of deterioration

Environmental conditions

The most important alterations in the structure of an audio carrier are the internal reactions normally caused by the prevailing environmental conditions. The physical and chemical properties of a resin may be altered by various factors. These structural changes are caused by:

Further causes of deterioration, specific to tapes, are:

Mycosis, formation of mold

If we go back in time, we observe a more intensive use of organic materials, especially in the field of additives, which also offered a high potential nutrient capacity for fungi. Nowadays, a possible source of nourishment for these organisms is the fat deposited by the hands or other parts of the human body. The damage caused by fungi, contrary to what is generally thought, also extends to materials that are not in themselves nutrients. In fact, the digestion of their food takes place externally with the secretion of enzymes and acids that can have negative effects on any material.

Incorrect handling

In this case, reference is made to daily use, storage, transport, etc.

 

Important points to be remembered

For mechanical cut discs

For optical discs

 

Recommendations

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Konservierung

Behandlung von Tonträgern - Praktische Ratschläge

Bemerkungen zu Schallplatten

Die "Azetate"

Diese Art von Schallplatte fand allgemeine Verwendung für Direktmitschnitte, bevor sie durch Stahldraht oder Tonband ersetzt wurde. Die Azetat-Platte war eine Kompromisslösung, die einerseits Aufnahme und Wiedergabe erleichterte, andererseits aber für eine Langzeitaufbewahrung problematisch ist. Die Zusammensetzung dieser Platten hat sich im Verlauf der Zeit stark geändert. Zuerst wurde Wachs benutzt, dann Ethylcellulose, dann Acetylzellulose und schliesslich Nitrozellulose.

Schellack-Platten

Schellack oder ähnliches Material wurde für die Herstellung von 78 U/min-Platten mit normaler Rille (horizontaler oder vertikaler Schnitt) verwendet. Auch in diesem Bereich gab es verschiedene Herstellungsprozesse, die sich unterschiedlich auf die Lebensdauer dieser Tonträger auswirken.

Platten aus Plastik

Die Platten mit langer Spieldauer (LP) können nicht einfach als Verbesserung der Schellack-Platten angesehen werden. Sie sind ausschliesslich aus synthetischen Materialien wie aus Polyvinylchlorid (PVC) oder aus Polystyrol hergestellt. Die wichtigste Ursache für eine chemische Zersetzung der Platten aus PVC sind utraviolette Strahlen (UV) und Wärme; für Polystyrol-Platten hingegen besteht die Gefahr von Oxydation.

Die optische Platte

Die optische Platte ist gegenüber den bisherigen sicherlich die stabilste. Normalerweise wird die optische Platte auf einer transparenten Polycarbonat-Basis aufgebaut, auf deren Oberfläche die Informationen gepresst sind. Darüber kommt eine feine metallene, reflektierende Schicht, die wiederum von einer schützenden Lackschicht bedeckt ist. Zuoberst wird das Etikett aufgedruckt. Der interessanteste Aspekt dieser Aufbautechnik ist wohl, dass die Oberfläche der Platte physisch getrennt ist von jener Schicht, auf der sich die Informationen befinden. Eventuelle Unreinheiten auf der Platte, wie Staub oder Kratzer, haben deshalb keinen Einfluss auf die Wiedergabequalität.

Die magnetisch-optische Platte

In diesem Zusammenhang ist es notwendig, auch die magnetisch-optischen Platten zu erwähnen. Ursprünglich wurden sie in der Informatik für die Aufbewahrung von Daten verwendet, verloren aber nach und nach Bedeutung durch die wachsende Kapazität der Hard-Disc (HDD). Die magnetisch-optische Platte hat in Form der mehrfach beschreibbaren MiniDisc überlebt.

Top of page

Bemerkungen zu den Tonbändern

Das Tonband wurde gleich nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg eingeführt. Um 1950 hatte es einen genug hohen Sicherheitsgrad erreicht, sodass damit definitiv die Azetat-Platte für Direktaufnahmen ersetzt werden konnte.

Jedes Magnetband (auf einer Spule oder in einer Kassette, Audio oder Video) ist zusammengesetzt aus einem Trägerband (Papier, Acetylcellulose, PVC, PET ...) und einer Schicht mit magnetischen Partikeln (Fe304, Fe203, Cr02 ...). Von seiner Struktur her gesehen, ist das Magnetband den gleichen Gefahren ausgesetzt, wie die anderen Tonträger, hat aber noch zusätzlichen spezifische Probleme bedingt durch seine Form und der Aufnahme- bzw. Abspieltechnik.

Top of page

Gründe für eine Zustandsverschlechterung

Umweltsbedingungen

Die meisten Strukturveränderungen eines Tonträgers erfolgen durch innere Reaktionen, hervorgerufen durch Umweltsbedingungen. Die physischen und chemischen Eigenschaften der verwendeten Harze können sich auf Grund verschiedener Faktoren verändern. Solche strukturellen Veränderungen werden hervorgerufen durch:

Weiter Beschädigungsursachen, insbesondere bei Magnetbändern, sind

Pilzbefall und Schimmelbildung

Seinerzeit verwendete man für die Herstellung von Tonträgern organische Substanzen, vor allem bei den Additiven. Diese bilden einen idealen Nährboden für allerlei Pilze. Heute finden diese Organismen ihren Nährboden hauptsächlich in den fettigen Ablagerungen von Händen oder andere Körperteilen. Durch Pilz hervorgerufene Schäden können auch bei Materialien entstehen, die eigentlich kein Nährboden für solche Organismen sind. Diese sondern Enzyme und Säuren ab, die jede Art von Material angreifen.

Falsche Handhabung

Dieser Punkt bezieht sich auf den alltäglichen Gebrauch von Tonträgern, ihre Lagerung oder Transporte usw.

Top of page

Wichtige Hinweise

Für gepresste mechanische Platten

Für optischen Platten

Top of page

Empfehlungen

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Eidgenössisches Departement des Innern EDI - Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek NB


© Schweizerische Nationalphonothek. Alle Rechte der elektronischen Veröffentlichung sind der Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek, Lugano, vorbehalten. Die kommerzielle Verwendung der Informationen ist untersagt.
Elektronisch publizierte Informationen und Zitate unterliegen den gleichen Regeln wie gedruckte Texte. Es gilt das Schweizerische Urheberrechtsgesetz (URG). Für Copyright und Zitierregeln siehe: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_de.htm

URL: