Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Preservation

Handling of sound carriers - Practical suggestions

Remarks on discs

"Acetates"

This type of disc was commonly used for instant recordings before being replaced by the magnetic wire or tape. It was conceived as a compromise offering facility of recording and reproduction, but this advantage was offset by negative effects on the long-term preservation of the carrier. The composition of these discs has changed considerably over the years, progressing from wax to ethylcellulose, to acetylcellulose and, lastly, to nitrocellulose.

The shellac disc

Shellac, or an equivalent material, was used for pressing 78rpm discs with a normal groove (lateral or vertical cutting). In this case too, there were different construction processes, but these carriers also were characterized by their variable duration over time.

The plastic disc

As long-playing discs, or microgroove discs, are composed almost exclusively of synthetic material, they cannot be considered as a mere improvement of shellac discs. They are made of polyvinylchloride (PVC) or polystyrene. The most important agents causing chemical degradation of PVC discs are exposure to ultraviolet rays (UV) and heat. For polystyrene discs, instead, there is a risk of oxidation.

The optical disc

The optical disc is decidedly the most stable of all the discs considered so far. Normally, it consists of a base of transparent polycarbonate. The information is recorded on the upper surface of this material. This face is then covered with a thin reflecting metallic layer and, in turn, this is covered with a layer of protective lacquer on which the label is printed. The most interesting element of this construction technique is that the surface of the disc is physically separated from the surface on which the information is recorded, so the precise focusing of the latter makes the presence of any anomalies (dirt, scratches, ...) on the disc irrelevant.

The magneto-optical disc

In this context, it is necessary to mention also magneto-optical discs. Used originally in the computer world to store data, they have increasingly lost importance with the dramatic increase of capacity of the hard disc (HDD). They continue to survive in the commercial world in the (re-writable) MiniDisc format.

 

Remarks on tapes

The magnetic tape was introduced immediately after the Second World War. By 1950, its degree of reliability was such that it completely replaced the acetate disc for direct recordings.

Each magnetic tape (reel or cassette, audio or video) consists of a carriering base (paper, acetylcellulose, PVC, PET, ...) onto which is fixed a layer of magnetic particles (Fe3O4, Fe2O3, CrO2, ...). From the structural standpoint, it is therefore exposed to the same risks as other sound carriers, with some additions characterized by the shape and the particular system of recording and reproduction.

 

Causes of deterioration

Environmental conditions

The most important alterations in the structure of an audio carrier are the internal reactions normally caused by the prevailing environmental conditions. The physical and chemical properties of a resin may be altered by various factors. These structural changes are caused by:

Further causes of deterioration, specific to tapes, are:

Mycosis, formation of mold

If we go back in time, we observe a more intensive use of organic materials, especially in the field of additives, which also offered a high potential nutrient capacity for fungi. Nowadays, a possible source of nourishment for these organisms is the fat deposited by the hands or other parts of the human body. The damage caused by fungi, contrary to what is generally thought, also extends to materials that are not in themselves nutrients. In fact, the digestion of their food takes place externally with the secretion of enzymes and acids that can have negative effects on any material.

Incorrect handling

In this case, reference is made to daily use, storage, transport, etc.

 

Important points to be remembered

For mechanical cut discs

For optical discs

 

Recommendations

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Conservation

Manipulation des supports sonores - Conseils pratiques

Quelques considérations sur les disques

Les "acétates"

Ce type de disque était généralement utilisé pour les enregistrements en direct, avant d'être remplacé par les fils ou les bandes magnétiques. Conçu pour être un compromis entre la facilité d'enregistrement et de reproduction, il est problématique du point de vue de la conservation à long terme. La composition chimique de ces disques a beaucoup évolué dans le temps: on est passé de la cire à l'éthyle de cellulose, puis à l'acétate de cellulose et enfin au nitrate de cellulose.

Le disque en gomme-laque

La gomme-laque, ou tout autre matériau équivalent, était utilisée pour produire les disques à 78 tours à sillon normal (gravure latérale ou verticale). Il existait dans ce cas aussi différents processus de fabrication qui avaient comme effet des variations de la durée de vie de ces supports.

Le disque en plastique

Composé essentiellement de matériaux synthétiques tels que le chlorure de polyvinyle (PVC) ou le polystyrène, le disque de longue durée ou microsillon ne saurait être considéré comme une simple amélioration du disque en gomme-laque. Les principaux facteurs de dégradation chimique des disques en PVC sont l'exposition aux rayons ultraviolets (UV) et à la chaleur. Les disques en polystyrène, quant à eux, sont sensibles à l'oxydation.

Le disque optique

De tous les disques dont il a été question jusqu'ici, le disque optique est certainement le plus stable. En règle générale, il est constitué d'une base transparente en polycarbonate sur la surface de laquelle sont gravées les informations. Cette face est couverte d'une mince couche métallique réfléchissante, protégée à son tour par une couche de laque sur laquelle est imprimée l'étiquette. L'aspect le plus intéressant de cette technique de fabrication est que la surface du disque est physiquement séparée de la surface sur laquelle sont gravées les informations. La présence éventuelle sur le disque d'anomalies telles que poussière ou rayures n'a aucune influence sur la qualité de sa lecture.

Le disque magnéto-optique

Dans ce contexte, il est nécessaire de mentionner aussi les disques magnéto-optiques. Employés à l'origine dans le monde de l'informatique pour mémoriser les données, ils furent progressivement supplantés par les hard disc (HDD), dont la capacité de mémorisation est supérieure. Ils survivent actuellement dans le commerce sous le format MiniDisc (réenregistrable).

Top of page

Quelques considérations sur les bandes magnétiques

La bande magnétique a été commercialisée à partir de la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. En 1950 elle avait déjà atteint un degré de fiabilité lui permettant de remplacer définitivement le disque acétate pour l'enregistrement en prise de son directe.

Toute bande magnétique (sur bobine ou cassette, audio ou vidéo) est composée d'une base (papier, acétate de cellulose, PVC, PET, etc.) sur laquelle est fixée une couche de particules magnétiques (Fe3O4, Fe2O3, CrO2, etc.). Du point de vue structurel, la bande magnétique est donc exposée aux mêmes dangers que les autres supports sonores, avec en plus des problèmes spécifiques liés à la forme et à la technique d'enregistrement et de reproduction.

Top of page

Causes de dégradation

Conditions environnementales

Les principales modifications structurelles d'un support sonore sont la conséquence des réactions internes induites généralement par les conditions environnementales du milieu où se trouve le support. Différents facteurs peuvent modifier les caractéristiques physiques et chimiques des résines. Causes possibles de modifications structurelles:

D'autres causes de détériorations spécifiques aux bandes magnétiques sont les suivantes:

Mycoses et formation de moisissures

Dans le temps, on faisait davantage usage de substances organiques, notamment pour les additifs, qui offraient un potentiel nutritionnel important pour toute sorte de champignons. Aujourd'hui, ces organismes trouvent leur source de nourriture dans les graisses déposées par les mains ou autres parties du corps. Contrairement à ce que l'on croit généralement, les dégâts causés par les mycoses concernent aussi les matériaux ne constituant pas en soi une nourriture pour les champignons. En effet, la digestion de leur nourriture ayant lieu à l'extérieur de l'organisme, les enzymes et acides produits peuvent corroder n'importe quel matériau.

Fausse manipulation

On se réfère ici à l'usage de tous les jours, au stockage, au transport. etc.

Top of page

Points importants à connaître

Pour les disques mécaniques, enregistrés

Pour les disques optiques

Top of page

Recommandations

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: