Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

Acoustics

Sound is part of the natural environment of mankind. It is first of all a perceived phenomenon, a sensation, raw material provided by the sense of hearing. It is then a cry, a voice, a word, thus spoken communication, a privileged bond between people. It is also music, another form of expression ad communication, and noise, a byproduct of the industrial society.

Our daily hearing experience leads to 3 observations:

Historically, such rough data are at the origin of acoustics, the branch of science which endeavors to explain nature, treating the production, the propagation, and the perception of sound in order to discover its mechanisms and laws.

The science of acoustics shows that the physical nature of sound consists of a propagation of an oscillatory movement of the particles of a fluid or solid medium. Certain media favor propagation, other hinder it.

Depending on the frequency of the oscillatory movement, the sound is audible or not. For humans, the field of audible sound spreads roughly from 16Hz to 16kHz.

To load the player, please enable JavaScript or upgrade to the latest HTML5 compatible browser.


By definition, sound, or acoustic vibration, is "a movement of particles around the equilibrium position in an elastic medium (as the air, for instance)". Corresponding to the natural hearing experience of humans, audible sound has a double meaning, conveying 2 points of view:

Physical acoustics deals with sound as an audible or inaudible oscillation: its central interest is the physical phenomenon of production and propagation of oscillations in an elastic medium, and by extension in any sort of medium, irrespective of the perceived phenomenon.

The acoustics of hearing, which includes psychoacoustics and physioacoustics, deals with the audible sound according to the second point: it is a question of establishing the hearing mechanisms and the relationships between the characters perceived and the physical characteristics of the sounds.

The audible sounds are the audiofrequencies. An ultrasound is a sound having a frequency that is above the high-frequency limit of audible sound. The frequency of an infrasound is below the low-frequency limit of audible sound.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


The Swiss National Sound Archives is part of the Swiss National Library


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

Akustik

Schall ist Teil der natürlichen Umgebung des Menschen. Vor allem aber ist Schall ein wahrgenommenes Phänomen, ein Sinneseindruck, das Rohmaterial für den Gehörsinn. Manchmal ist es ein Schrei, eine Stimme, ein Wort, also Kommunikation durch Sprache, dieses ganz besondere Bindeglied zwischen den Menschen. Es ist aber auch Musik, eine andere Form des Ausdrucks und der Kommunikation, und Lärm, ein Nebeneffekt der Industriegesellschaft.

Unsere tägliche Hörerfahrung führt zu drei Beobachtungen:

Historisch gesehen bilden solche ungenauen Beobachtungen den Ursprung der Akustik, eines Wissenschaftsgebiets, das sich mit der Natur, der Entstehung und Erzeugung, der Ausbreitung und der Wahrnehmung des Schalls befasst, um seine Mechanismen und Gesetzmäßigkeiten zu entdecken.

Die Akustik als Wissenschaft belegt, dass Schall physikalisch gesehen eine sich ausbreitende wellenförmige Bewegung von Partikeln eines flüssigen oder festen Mediums ist. Bestimmte Medien begünstigen die Ausbreitung des Schalls, während andere die Ausbreitung beeinträchtigen.

Je nach der Frequenz der Wellenbewegung ist der Schall hörbar oder nicht. Für den Menschen liegt der Bereich des hörbaren Schalls etwa zwischen 16Hz und 16kHz.

To load the player, please enable JavaScript or upgrade to the latest HTML5 compatible browser.


Der Definition nach ist Schall oder akustische Vibration eine "Bewegung von Partikeln um die Gleichgewichtslage in einem elastischen Medium (wie beispielsweise die Luft)". Entsprechend der natürlichen Hörerfahrung des Menschen hat hörbarer Schall zwei Bedeutungen, die zwei Blickwinkel vermitteln:

Der Bereich der physikalischen Akustik befasst sich mit dem Schall als hörbare oder nicht hörbare Welle. Im Mittelpunkt des Interesses stehen hier die Erzeugung und Ausbreitung von Wellen in einem elastischen Medium sowie in allen anderen Medien, unabhängig vom Phänomen der Wahrnehmung.

Die Akustik des Hörens, einschließlich der Psychoakustik und der Physioakustik, befasst sich ausgehend vom zweiten Blickwinkel mit hörbarem Schall. Es geht um die Untersuchung der Mechanismen des Hörens und um die Beziehung, die zwischen der Wahrnehmung und den physikalischen Eigenschaften des Schalls besteht.

Hörbarer Schall wird in Audiofrequenzen eingeteilt. Ultraschall ist ein Schall mit einer Frequenz, der über der Hochfrequenzgrenze für hörbaren Schall liegt. Die Frequenz von Infraschall hingegen liegt unter der Niedrigfrequenzgrenze für hörbaren Schall.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Die Schweizerische Nationalphonothek gehört zur Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek


© Schweizerische Nationalphonothek. Alle Rechte der elektronischen Veröffentlichung sind der Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek, Lugano, vorbehalten. Die kommerzielle Verwendung der Informationen ist untersagt.
Elektronisch publizierte Informationen und Zitate unterliegen den gleichen Regeln wie gedruckte Texte. Es gilt das Schweizerische Urheberrechtsgesetz (URG). Für Copyright und Zitierregeln siehe: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_de.htm

URL: