Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

Acoustics

Sound is part of the natural environment of mankind. It is first of all a perceived phenomenon, a sensation, raw material provided by the sense of hearing. It is then a cry, a voice, a word, thus spoken communication, a privileged bond between people. It is also music, another form of expression ad communication, and noise, a byproduct of the industrial society.

Our daily hearing experience leads to 3 observations:

Historically, such rough data are at the origin of acoustics, the branch of science which endeavors to explain nature, treating the production, the propagation, and the perception of sound in order to discover its mechanisms and laws.

The science of acoustics shows that the physical nature of sound consists of a propagation of an oscillatory movement of the particles of a fluid or solid medium. Certain media favor propagation, other hinder it.

Depending on the frequency of the oscillatory movement, the sound is audible or not. For humans, the field of audible sound spreads roughly from 16Hz to 16kHz.

To load the player, please enable JavaScript or upgrade to the latest HTML5 compatible browser.


By definition, sound, or acoustic vibration, is "a movement of particles around the equilibrium position in an elastic medium (as the air, for instance)". Corresponding to the natural hearing experience of humans, audible sound has a double meaning, conveying 2 points of view:

Physical acoustics deals with sound as an audible or inaudible oscillation: its central interest is the physical phenomenon of production and propagation of oscillations in an elastic medium, and by extension in any sort of medium, irrespective of the perceived phenomenon.

The acoustics of hearing, which includes psychoacoustics and physioacoustics, deals with the audible sound according to the second point: it is a question of establishing the hearing mechanisms and the relationships between the characters perceived and the physical characteristics of the sounds.

The audible sounds are the audiofrequencies. An ultrasound is a sound having a frequency that is above the high-frequency limit of audible sound. The frequency of an infrasound is below the low-frequency limit of audible sound.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


The Swiss National Sound Archives is part of the Swiss National Library


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tél. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

Acoustique

Le son fait partie de l'environnement naturel de l'homme. C'est d'abord un phénomène perçu, une sensation, une matière première fournie par l'ouïe. C'est ensuite un cri, une voix, un mot, et donc une communication verbale, un lien privilégié entre les hommes. C'est aussi la musique, une autre forme d'expression et de communication, et le bruit, un sous-produit de la société industrielle.

Notre expérience auditive quotidienne conduit à trois observations:

Ce sont ces données brutes qui sont historiquement à l'origine de l'acoustique, la branche des sciences qui se propose d'expliquer la nature du son, en traitant sa production, sa propagation et sa perception afin de découvrir ses mécanismes et ses lois.

La science de l'acoustique montre que le caractère physique du son consiste en une propagation d'un mouvement oscillatoire des particules d'un milieu liquide ou solide. Certains moyens favorisent la propagation, d'autres y font obstacle.

La fréquence du mouvement oscillatoire détermine si le son est audible ou non. Pour les êtres humains, la plage des sons audibles s'étend approximativement de 16 Hz à 16 kHz.

To load the player, please enable JavaScript or upgrade to the latest HTML5 compatible browser.


Par définition, le son, ou vibration acoustique, est un "mouvement de particules autour d'une position d'équilibre dans un milieu élastique (par exemple, l'air)". Correspondant à l'expérience auditive naturelle des êtres humains, le son audible a une double signification, qui véhicule deux points de vue:

L'acoustique physique s'intéresse au son en tant qu'oscillation audible ou inaudible: son domaine central d'intérêt est le phénomène physique de la production et de la propagation d'oscillations en milieu élastique, et par extension dans toute sorte de milieu, indépendamment du phénomène perçu.

L'acoustique de l'audition, qui comprend la psychoacoustique et la physioacoustique, étudie le son audible du second point de vue: il s'agit d'établir les mécanismes auditifs et les relations entre les caractères perçus et les caractéristiques physiques des sons.

Les sons audibles sont les audiofréquences. Un ultrason est un son dont la fréquence est supérieure à la fréquence maximale audible. Un infrason est un son dont la fréquence est inférieure à la fréquence minimale audible.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


La Phonothèque nationale suisse fait partie de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: