Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

The audiophile

Whatever happened to the Audiophile?

Laid-back in an easy chair, soaking in Rachmaninoff, Al Jarreau, or the Queen, enveloped by the very best, top-of-the-line stereo equipment one could afford, the audiophile was a symbol of the Golden Age of Audiophonics, a time when certain people worshiped at the altar of expensive high-fidelity, two-channel stereo equipment. They were knights errant on an eternal quest for audio perfection — the exact replication of an original performance.

Here is the way a well known newspaper described a Holy Grail system in 1980: "There is a greater transparency of orchestral textures, giving each instrument an almost tactile presence." The theological debates pitted vacuum-tube amplification advocates against those preferring solid state, or transistorized, amplification. The sacred texts were magazines such as Stereo Review and High Fidelity. Stereo stores were the holy shrines.

Then came the barbaric revolution. The boombox, the Walkman, and other hand-held devices made music more portable. Digital sound enabled listeners to store scads of compressed, easy-to-download music files — first on computers, then on miniature devices and cell phones. Quality in recordings was sacrificed for speed and convenience. Loudness became more important than clarity. The richness and warmth of a recording was replaced by tinniness and splash.

 

The soundscape has changed

Sound quality is rarely brought up in music conversations these days, and for many listeners high-fidelity is a non-issue, especially given that people often listen to music in noisy environments, while doing something else, like eating while driving or chatting on a phone while walking. The experience of listening to music these days is not unlike personal computing: it's a 24/7 multilocation proposition. People are taking their music with them, and as a whole, the world has changed so that there are simply fewer and fewer old school proponents of sitting down and listening to music.

While the sales of high-end devices that deliver high-quality sound may have decreased, the sales of low-end devices that deliver better and better audio quality is on the upswing. Some media consumers who in the past would have been known as audiophiles have turned their passions to other delivery systems, including huge flat-panel TVs, home theaters, and multiroom audio-visual contraptions.

 

Format unlocked

The mass-market selects and the audiophiles perfect. Vinyl playback was first a mass market success, and audiophiles set about perfecting it and still do. CD was next, and audiophiles and high-end audio companies spent the last several decades perfecting disc-based audio technology. This will always be so.

The way we experience music has exploded with this past decade's proliferation of the MP3 file. The optimistic upshot is that the online/download digital world is, in fact, the biggest opportunity for audiophiles so far. And, as audiophiles push companies to perfect how good music can sound via the Internet, the second Golden Age of Audiophonics might be dawning.

It started out a bit rough with compressed MP3 files that sounded barely OK. But the mass market has now clearly accepted online music. And we'll see these formats push to higher resolution as bandwidth allows. There is also a vast underground online community of high-resolution file traders who demand better and better transfer technology for all types of music.

Since we are no longer locked to a physical format like LP or CD, there is far more flexibility in introducing higher resolution audio formats in an online world. So the potential for audiophiles is greater than ever before to have a format aimed at them that coincides with the mass market.

 

Surrounded by sound

As the home theater boom truly began to explode over a decade ago, audiophiles dove into it relatively willingly, as we also appreciate the benefits of watching a great picture on a great screen or TV. But it all ties back to enhancing our inherent passion for great sound.

Great sound these days may be found by hooking up high-definition TVs to surround-sound systems. Also known as 5.1 systems, the six-speaker configuration is made up of left and right front speakers; a center channel, mostly for dialogue; left and right rear channels and a subwoofer - the 1 in the equation - for the low-end of the audio spectrum.

Such conglomerations mirror the 360 degrees of audio that we deal with in everyday life, and they serve to enhance the overall audio-visual experience. Think of the excitement of feeling like you're in the middle of a roaring stadium crowd while watching football in high-def. Or hearing a car literally drive across the sound stage and into the distance behind you to correspond exactly with what you see that car doing onscreen.

Surround sound makes you feel like you are there, and that's one major way the audiophile world intersects with video. When the A and the V are working in tandem, it's an amazing experience.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


The Swiss National Sound Archives is part of the Swiss National Library


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

L'audiophile

Qu'est-il advenu de l'audiophile?

Installé dans un fauteuil confortable, s'imprégnant de Rachmaninoff, d'Al Jarreau, ou des Queen restitués par le meilleur matériel stéréo haut de gamme offert sur le marché, l'audiophile était un symbole de l'âge d'or de l'audio, époque à laquelle certains individus vouaient un véritable culte au coûteux matériel stéréo deux voies haute-fidélité. C'étaient des chevaliers voués à la recherche constante de la perfection audio – la reproduction exacte de l'exécution originale.

Voici comment un célèbre quotidien décrivait un système digne du Graal en 1980: "La plus grande transparence des tessitures des instruments de l'orchestre confère une présence presque tactile à chaque instrument." Les débats théologiques opposaient les partisans de l'amplification à tubes à vide aux adeptes d'une amplification à semi-conducteurs, ou transistorisée. Des magazines tels Stereo Review étaient les textes sacrés et les magasins de matériel hi-fi des sanctuaires.

Puis est arrivée la révolution des barbares. Avec la boom box, le Walkman et d'autres dispositifs tenus à la main, la musique est devenue transportable. Le son numérique a permis aux auditeurs d'enregistrer des quantités de fichiers musicaux compressés, faciles à télécharger – d'abord sur des ordinateurs, puis sur des dispositifs miniaturisés et des téléphones portables. La qualité de l'enregistrement a été sacrifiée à la vitesse et la commodité. La puissance a pris le pas sur la pureté des sons. La richesse et la chaleur d'un enregistrement ont cédé la place au son métallique et brouillé.

 

Un paysage audio transformé

De nos jours, il est rare que les conversations sur la musique abordent la qualité du son et, pour de nombreux auditeurs, la haute-fidélité est un faux problème, d'autant plus qu'on écoute souvent de la musique dans des environnements bruyants, en faisant autre chose, comme on mange en conduisant ou téléphone en marchant. L'expérience de l'écoute musicale n'est pas éloignée de l'informatique personnelle: partout, 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. On emporte sa musique avec soi et, dans l'ensemble, le monde a tellement changé qu'il compte de moins en moins de tenants de la vieille école, qui pensent que la musique s'écoute assis.

Si les ventes de dispositifs haut de gamme restituant un son de qualité ont diminué, celles des dispositifs bas de gamme produisant une qualité audio en constante amélioration sont en pleine expansion. Certains consommateurs de médias qu'on aurait autrefois qualifiés d'audiophiles se passionnent aujourd'hui pour d'autres systèmes de restitution, dont les énormes téléviseurs à écran plat, les home cinémas, et les systèmes audiovisuels multipièces.

 

La libération des formats

Le marché de masse sélectionne et les audiophiles perfectionnent. La lecture de disques vinyles a d'abord été un succès de masse ; les audiophiles ont entrepris de la perfectionner et y travaillent encore. Puis est arrivé le CD et les audiophiles et les fabricants de matériels haut de gamme ont consacré les dernières décennies à perfectionner la technologie audio basée sur le CD. Il en sera toujours ainsi.

En dix ans, la multiplication des fichiers MP3 a littéralement révolutionné notre expérience musicale. La conclusion optimiste, c'est que le monde numérique en ligne ou du téléchargement est en réalité la plus grande opportunité jamais offerte aux audiophiles. Et, comme ceux-ci poussent les entreprises à perfectionner la qualité du son sur Internet, on pourrait bien être à l'aube du deuxième âge d'or de l'audio.

Les débuts ont été un peu difficiles, avec des fichiers MP3 compressés tout juste audibles, mais il est clair que le marché de masse a maintenant accepté la musique en ligne. Et nous verrons ces formats atteindre des résolutions plus élevées à mesure de l'évolution de la bande passante. Il existe aussi une importante communauté underground d'échange de fichiers haute résolution qui exige une technologie de transfert toujours plus performante pour tous les types de musique.

Puisque nous ne sommes plus prisonniers d'un format physique comme les 33 tours ou les CD, l'introduction de formats audio offrant une plus haute résolution dans un monde en ligne est débarrassée de ces contraintes. Plus que jamais, les audiophiles ont la possibilité de disposer d'un format qui leur est destiné et qui coïncide avec le marché de masse.

 

Effet surround

Avec le boom des systèmes home cinéma amorcé il y a plus d'une dizaine d'années, les audiophiles ont adopté assez volontiers cette technologie, car nous apprécions aussi les avantages d'une image de dimension généreuse sur grand écran ou à la télévision. Mais tout cela revient à nourrir notre passion intrinsèque pour un son de qualité.

Aujourd'hui, on obtient un son de qualité en connectant des téléviseurs haute définition à des systèmes audio surround, ou "5.1", qui sont formés de six enceintes: deux enceintes avant droite et gauche, une enceinte centrale, principalement pour les dialogues, deux enceintes arrière droite et gauche et un caisson de basses - e 1 du 5.1 - pour la partie basse du spectre audio.

Ces systèmes reproduisent les 360 degrés audio qui font notre expérience quotidienne et enrichissent notre expérience audiovisuelle globale. Pensez à l'émotion que procure l'impression d'être dans les gradins d'un stade, au milieu d'un public en effervescence tout en regardant un match de football en haute définition. Ou d'entendre une voiture littéralement traverser la scène sonore et s'éloigner derrière vous, en exacte correspondance avec son mouvement à l'écran.

Le son surround vous donne l'impression d'être au cœur de l'action et c'est un des points de rencontre entre le monde de l'audiophile et celui de la vidéo. Lorsque le A et le V fonctionnent en tandem, c'est une expérience exceptionnelle

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: