Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

Electroacoustics

Electroacoustics is an engineering science combining acoustics and electrotechnology. Its object is the study, conception, and realization of technical devices concerning the production, transmission, recording, reproduction, measurement, and industrial applications of sound, which generally involve one or more transformations from acoustical to electrical energy and vice versa.

A transducer is a device that receives energy from one or several systems or media and supplies a corresponding energy, of another nature, to one or several other devices or media. Our interest here is focused on electroacoustic transducers, which can be electromechanical (conversion from electrical to mechanical energy and vice versa) and electromagnetic (conversion from electrical to magnetic energy and vice versa).

An electromechanical transducer develops a process of energy conversion, also called electromechanical coupling. A reversible coupling provides a conversion in either direction. Such a transducer is employed in driving mode when it converts electrical energy into mechanical energy and in generator mode when operating in the opposite direction.

A transducer is passive when all the energy it supplies comes exclusively from the energy it receives. When part or all the energy comes from an auxiliary source, the transducer is active.

The principal sound transmitters are:

The principal sound receivers are:

 

A real world application

The Compact Disc (CD), a product made by the electroacoustic industry for the general public, is a well-known recording medium for sound. It involves the setting up of a cascade of processes: the recording of a master medium, the manufacture of the glass master, the moulding of the CDs, the diffusion by a distribution and sales network, and eventually the reproduction.

For the recording, the chain typically comprises:

At the glass mastering, there is:

The reproduction chain, comprises:

The quality of the sound obtained when playing back a CD depends on all the devices and components in the different chains, as well as the recording and listening conditions. Consequently, the specifications of each device, apparatus, or transducer are above all a result of the stipulated requirements. These requirements are themselves fixed, taking into account the effect of the device on the overall quality.

Technical, technological, and, finally, commercial demands will also intervene, linked to the accepted price and the type of market chosen. The first problem to solve when designing an electroacoustic device is to draw up its specifications. It is often a difficult problem that requires the definition of quality and performance criteria, which, in turn, depend on the anticipated use of the device.

For example, the specifications of a loudspeaker are the results of the examination of the anticipated listening conditions, technological constraints, and economic considerations. Drawing up such specifications is a matter of answering questions such as: what is the lowest frequency the loudspeaker must be able to reproduce, taking into account its technological feasibility, its use, its effect on other characteristics, and its cost?

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tél. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

Électroacoustique

L'électroacoustique est une science de l'ingénieur combinant l'acoustique et l'électrotechnique. Son objet est l'étude, la conception et la réalisation de dispositifs techniques concernant la production, la transmission, l'enregistrement, la reproduction, la mesure et les applications industrielles du son, qui impliquent généralement une ou plusieurs transformations de l'énergie acoustique en énergie électrique et inversement.

Un transducteur est un dispositif qui reçoit de l'énergie provenant d'un ou de plusieurs systèmes ou médias et fournit une énergie correspondante, d'une autre nature, à un ou plusieurs dispositifs ou médias. Nous nous intéressons ici aux transducteurs électroacoustiques, qui peuvent être électromécaniques (conversion de l'énergie électrique en énergie mécanique et inversement) et électromagnétique (conversion de l'énergie électrique en énergie magnétique et inversement).

Un transducteur électromécanique développe un processus de conversion de l'énergie, également appelé couplage électromécanique. Un couplage réversible assure une conversion dans l'un ou l'autre sens. Ce type de transducteur est employé en mode moteur lorsqu'il convertit l'énergie électrique en énergie mécanique et en mode générateur lorsqu'il fonctionne en sens inverse.

Un transducteur est passif lorsque toute l'énergie qu'il fournit provient exclusivement de l'énergie qu'il reçoit. Quand une partie de l'énergie provient d'une source auxiliaire, le transducteur est actif.

Principaux émetteurs de sons:

Principaux récepteurs de sons:

 

Application dans le monde réel

Le disque compact (CD, de l'anglais Compact Disc), produit fabriqué par l'industrie électroacoustique pour le grand public, est un support d'enregistrement des sons très connu. Il mobilise toute une série d'opérations : enregistrement d'un master, fabrication du glass master, moulage des CD, diffusion par un réseau de distribution et de vente et, finalement, reproduction.

Pour l'enregistrement, la chaîne type comprend:

La production du glass master requiert:

La chaîne de reproduction comprend:

La qualité du son obtenu à la lecture du CD dépend de tous les dispositifs et composantes des différentes chaînes, ainsi que des conditions d'enregistrement et d'écoute. Par conséquent, les spécifications de chaque dispositif, appareil ou transducteur résultent avant tout du cahier des charges, celui-ci étant défini en tenant compte de l'effet du dispositif sur la qualité d'ensemble.

Des exigences techniques, technologiques et commerciales interviennent également, liées au prix accepté et au type de marché choisi. Le premier problème à résoudre lorsqu'on conçoit un dispositif électroacoustique est de définir ses spécifications. C'est souvent un problème difficile, qui demande de définir des critères de qualité et de performance, lesquels dépendent à leur tour de l'utilisation anticipée du dispositif.

Ainsi, les spécifications d'un haut-parleur résultent de l'étude des conditions d'écoute anticipées, des contraintes technologiques et de considérations économiques. Établir ces spécifications suppose de répondre à des questions de type: quelle est la fréquence la plus basse que le haut-parleur doit être capable de reproduire, compte tenu de la faisabilité technique, de son utilisation, de son effet sur d'autres caractéristiques et de son coût?

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


La Phonothèque nationale suisse fait partie de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: