Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

blank

HearTomorrow seeks to educate and promote awareness of the damage to our hearing caused by continued exposure to loud sounds. HearTomorrow acknowledges the unique pleasures that sound gives us, but also the need for individuals to take personal responsibility to care for what is one of our least understood senses. We want to encourage everyone to continue to enjoy sound in all its beauty and diversity – but without forgetting safety.

We live in an increasingly noisy world. We are constantly bombarded by sounds we both like and dislike. But any sound, liked or disliked, is potentially damaging if it is loud enough. Worse, we often try to drown out "noise" with sounds we like. That is a classic recipe for hearing loss.

Most industrial workplaces are under the scrutiny of government organizations, which stipulate safe noise levels for workers. Management and employees are educated about the hazards of noisy environments and instructed in effective methods of hearing protection.

HearTomorrow

Less attention is given to sound levels in entertainment or recreation, and noise hazards certainly exist outside the workplace. Concerts, dance clubs, sporting events, and many forms of outdoor recreation pose a threat to our hearing. Some government regulations exist, but it is up to the individual to at least be aware of the potential hazard and make an informed decision about exposure to such sound levels.

The Swiss National Sound Archives, in close collaboration with the initiator prof. Benj Kanters at Columbia College Chicago, taking into account what has already been achieved in our country, is promoting this initiative in Switzerland. It includes in its educational program some mini-courses and lectures tailored to any audience, from primary school pupils to university students, from the curious or just interested person to the sound specialists.

And so this initiative has the goal of better learning, better listening, and better sound.


For further information, technical details, and links: English, Curiosity

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

blank

HearTomorrow blank

HearTomorrow cherche à éduquer et à promouvoir la conscience des dommages qu'une exposition continue à des sons forts cause à l'ouïe. HearTomorrow reconnaît le plaisir unique que le son nous procure, mais également la nécessité pour chaque individu de prendre soin de ce qui est l'un de nos sens les moins compris. Nous souhaitons encourager chacun à continuer de profiter du son dans toute sa diversité et toute sa beauté - sans toutefois oublier la sécurité.

Nous vivons dans un monde toujours plus bruyant. Nous sommes constamment bombardés de sons qui ne nous plaisent pas toujours. Mais chaque son, qu'il soit agréable ou désagréable, est potentiellement nuisible lorsqu'il est très fort. Pire encore, nous essayons souvent de couvrir le "bruit" avec des sons qui nous plaisent. C'est une recette classique pour perdre l'ouïe.

La majorité des places de travail sont sous la surveillance d'organismes publics qui définissent les niveaux de tolérance sonore pour les travailleurs. La direction et les employés sont informés des risques liés aux environnements bruyants et sont instruits sur les méthodes efficaces de protection de l'ouïe.

HearTomorrow

Mais les dangers sonores existent bien en dehors du monde du travail. On prête moins attention toutefois aux niveaux sonores dans le domaine du divertissement et des loisirs. Concerts, discothèques, manifestations sportives et de nombreuses activités en plein air constituent une menace pour l'ouïe. La réglementation gouvernemental existe, mais chacun devrait être conscient des risques potentiels de l'exposition à de tels niveaux sonores afin de pouvoir se comporter en toute connaissance de cause.

Tenant compte de ce qui a déjà été réalisé dans notre pays, la Phonothèque nationale suisse, en étroite collaboration avec l'initiateur de HearTomorrow, le Prof. Benj Kanters du Colombia College Chicago, se fait promotrice de cette initiative sur le territoire suisse. Dans son programme pédagogique, la Phonothèque propose des mini-cours et des conférences adaptés à chaque public, des écoliers aux étudiants universitaires, des curieux et simples intéressés aux spécialistes du son.

Cette initiative a pour objectif l'éducation à une meilleure écoute et à un meilleur son.


Pour plus d'informations, détails techniques et link: anglais, Curiosité

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: