Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

Perception

Psychoacoustics

Psychoacoustics sets out to establish the relations between our auditory sensations and the physical characteristics of the acoustic stimuli. These relations are obtained using techniques of experimental psychology. The statistical response of a great number of listeners to clearly defined stimuli is established, without necessarily seeking to explain the intimate working mechanism of the ear.

The stimuli are pure tones, random tones, speech, etc. The listeners' responses are expected to reveal whether a sound is audible or not, to show whether there is a modification or not of the auditory sensations, to classify sounds perceived according to a scale, etc.

The manner of listening is very important and must be specified. A distinction is made between listening with headphones, listening in free field conditions, and listening in a diffuse or semi-diffuse sound field. A rich set of sound samples, covering most of the following psychoacoustic effects, may be found here.

 

Auditory sensation area

The frequency and intensity region of audible sounds is known as auditory sensation area. It is delineated at its bottom by the threshold of hearing and at its top by the threshold of pain. For a given listener, the threshold of hearing is the minimum sound pressure level of a specified sound that is capable evoking an auditory sensation. The sound reaching the ears from other sources, as the bone structure for instance, is assumed to be negligible. The threshold of pain for a given listener is the minimum sound pressure level of a specified sound which will stimulate the ear to a sensation of definite pain.

In the 2 to 4kHz frequency range, where the ear is most sensitive, the dynamic range corresponding to the difference between the threshold of pain and threshold of hearing is approximately 140dB.

Our hearing normally deteriorates with age: this is know as presbycousis. This evolution is objectivized by a hearing loss, i.e. the amount expressed in decibels by which the threshold of hearing of the impaired ears exceeds the standard threshold of hearing for a specified frequency. Presbycousis is more marked for men than for women: this is explained by different exposures to noise during our lives. It is thus proven that a long exposure to intense noise, at work, for example, accelerates the aging process of our hearing and can cause higher than normal hearing losses. Losses of around 25dB can cause an appreciable degradation in speech intelligibility.

 

Loudness

Loudness is the attribute of auditory sensation in terms of which sounds may be ordered on a scale extending from soft to loud. It depends primarily upon the sound pressure of the stimulus, but also upon its frequency, waveform, and duration.

Loudness is characterized by equal-loudness contours (see picture below), showing the related values of sound pressure level and frequency required to cause a given loudness level. The equal-loudness contours depend on the stimulus and on the manner of listening.

More generally speaking, the loudness level of a sound in phons is equal to the sound pressure level of a free progressive wave having a frequency of 1000 Hz presented to otologically normal listeners facing the source that is judged equally as loud as the unknown sound.

Loudness

 

Pitch

The pitch is the attribute of auditory sensation in terms of which sounds may be ordered on a scale, i.e. the psychoacoustic scale, extending from low to high. Pitch is what allows us to recognize a melody. The pitch of a pure tone depends mainly on the frequency, in a nonlinear way, but also on the sound pressure, and very differently from one person to another.

For a harmonic sound, the pitch is practically that of the fundamental, even if the latter is absent: our ear is, therefore, sensitive to the frequency intervals between harmonics. It may be noted that pitch also depends on the amplitude of the harmonics: eliminating certain harmonics, with filters for example, modifies the pitch.

The pitch of inharmonic sounds depends on the amplitudes of the pure tones present and on their frequency intervals. The pitch of a random sound depends on the frequency range within which the components have relatively large amplitudes. Certain sounds have several formants, which means their pitch is ambiguous. Likewise, filtering percussive sounds (xylophone, for example) changes their pitch.

 

Harmonic pitch

Besides the pitch defined above as the psychoacoustic scale, there is the harmonic or musical pitch, which corresponds to a logarithmic frequency scale. The harmonic pitch of Western polyphonic music and other traditional music is based on the octave interval: two sounds with an octave ratio are perceived as similar, or seem even blended together, whether they are heard simultaneously or successively. The octave unison of voices or instruments consists in making them perform the same melody, but one or several octaves higher or lower: only a single melody is heard.

If 2 sounds with an octave interval are considered equivalent, this leads to a relative musical pitch, which means the interval between these 2 sounds is referred to the same octave.

The harmonic pitch only constitutes an aural scale for listeners with a musical ear. A listener with perfect pitch is able to recognize the harmonic pitch of any single sound. This would seem to be an inborn quality. An ear can, nevertheless, be trained by associating, for a given instrument, the pitch and timbre of each note. The relative musical ear recognizes the interval between 2 sounds heard simultaneously or in succession. This is what is truly crucial for the musician. Practice gently enhances its development.

 

Timbre

Timbre is the attribute of auditory sensation that enables a listener to judge that 2 sounds, similarly presented and having the same loudness and pitch, are dissimilar. Timbre depends primarily upon the spectrum of the sound, but also on the formation and extinction transients (very fast variations of the amplitude).

For the psychoacoustician, who studies the human subjective perception of sounds, timbre often defines a junk-box category: if 2 sounds of same loudness and pitch are perceived as different, they must have different timbre. A more or less pleasant coloration attribute is often associated with timbre. It is described by subjective terms and qualifications that are also used for painting, such as warm, cold, full, round, piercing, sharp, brilliant, dull, etc. In music, a timbre refers above all to the tones of the various instruments, allowing them to be distinguished. It is, however, more than this, because the manner of establishing the sound, or, in other words, the attack, partly determines the timbre.

The musical attribute of sound or, conversely, the noise quality of sound, is associated with timbre: the former is pleasant, the latter unpleasant. Broadly speaking, a harmonic sound is more musical than a random one. This is why noise has often been defined as a complex inharmonic or random sound.

 

Consonance and dissonance

When listening simultaneously to 2 pure tones, a listener perceives an unpleasant or undefined impression, known as dissonance, as soon as the frequency difference is equal to about 6 to 8Hz. The dissonance is at its strongest for an interval close to the tempered halftone.

When the interval between 2 sounds is an integer number of octaves, the dissonance disappears to be replaced by a consonance that gives out a calm impression of plenitude and completeness. The 2 sounds seem to become one, as if they were at unison, i.e. of same frequency.

When simultaneously listening to harmonic sounds or series, the same impression of consonance is perceived if the ratio of their fundamentals is a simple fraction. This property can be explained by the existence of common harmonics: the greater their number, the better the consonance. Conversely, a dissonance is all the more marked, the fewer common harmonics there are and the smaller the differences between the other harmonic in presence (beats and harshness).

The musical intervals may be categorized by decreasing consonance. We successively have: unison (1/1), octaves (n/1), perfect fifth (3/2), major third (5/4), perfect fourth (4/3), etc. The interval of a major seventh (15/8) is considered to be the most dissonant.

Finally, it should be pointed out that consonances and dissonances greatly depend on each individual's musical experience, and, more broadly speaking, musical culture.

 

Masking

When listening to 2 sounds of different levels, a masking is observed: the more intense masking sound causes a decrease in the loudness of the less intense masked sound, compared to its loudness before the masking sound was introduced.

Masking depends on the characteristics of the sounds in presence and the manner of listening. It is studied by determining how much the threshold of hearing of the masked sound is raised by the presence of the masking sound.

This behavior of the human hearing was taken into account when defining the compression algorithms for any lossy digital audio formats, as for example the MP3. A linear audio stream such as on an audio CD has a bitrate of 1411kbps. A typical Internet-quality MP3 file has a bitrate of 128kbps. This involves a compression ratio of approx 11:1. How is it possible to achieve it without reducing the information? Nope. So, while reducing the information, how is it possible to keep the sound quality to an acceptable level? One answer is quite simple: taking advantage of the masking effect, which in this case means throwing away some signals or parts of the signal that would be masked anyway by our brain.

 

Localization

Localization is the property of being able to localize a sound source in space. It is only possible with binaural, i.e. with both ears, listening. While being fairly precise in the horizontal plane, it is mediocre with respect to both the elevation angle and distance. Two phenomena explain horizontal sound source localization:

The head constitutes an obstacle to the propagation of sound and determines an acoustic shadow for sounds, the wavelengths of which are smaller than its dimensions. For a lateral source, there is, therefore, a difference in loudness between the 2 ears, which allows the source to be located. This phenomenon only intervenes above approximately 400Hz.

As diffraction depends on the frequency, the timbre of a complex sound is modified according to the position of the source, and thus yields a further means of locating a source. This mode requires that sufficient knowledge be acquired concerning the timbretheir modification in relation to the direction of the source and, therefore, depends on each person's individual experience.

The difference of sound paths creates a time delay between the arrival times at each ear. When in a steady state, this delay corresponds to a phase shift. The latter only allows the source to be located if it is less than one-half wavelength. This is the case for frequencies below approximately 800 Hz.

Experiments on source localization, in particular those carried out using headphones, show that human beings are capable of detecting delays of around 10 microseconds. The normal otological threshold, i.e. the normal sensibility, is roughly equal to 40 microseconds.

The phenomena described above combine with each other and allow a source to be located with an increasing precision the more complex the sound. For low-frequency pure tones, there is an ambiguity between front and rear localization. The time delay alone is not enough in this case to localize the source correctly.

Localization with respect to the elevation angle may be explained by the diffraction caused by the head, but most of all by the ear pinna. This diffraction gives rise to peaks and dips in the spectrum of the incident sound and, therefore, induces different timbres. It would, indeed, seem that people acquire sufficient listening experience to be able to associate these timbre variations with the different elevation angles.

Psychoacoustics lab

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tél. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

HearTomorrow

Perception

Psychoacoustique

La psychoacoustique se propose d'établir les relations entre nos sensations auditives et les caractéristiques physiques des stimuli acoustiques en faisant appel à des techniques de psychologie expérimentale. Elle observe les réponses statistiques d'un grand nombre d'auditeurs à des stimuli précis sans nécessairement chercher à expliquer le mécanisme de fonctionnement intime de l'oreille.

Les stimuli sont des sons purs, des sons aléatoires, la parole, etc. Les réponses des auditeurs sont censées révéler si un son est audible ou non, montrer s'il y a ou non modification des sensations auditives, classer les sons perçus sur une échelle, etc.

Le mode d'écoute est très important et doit être spécifié. Une distinction est opérée entre l'écoute au casque, l'écoute en champ libre et l'écoute en champ diffus ou semi-diffus. On trouvera ici un vaste ensemble d'échantillons sonores, couvrant la plupart des effets psychoacoustiques suivants.

 

Aire d'audition

La zone de fréquence et d'intensité des sons audibles est appelée aire d'audition. Elle est délimitée dans sa partie inférieure par le seuil d'audition et dans sa partie supérieure par le seuil de douleur. Pour un auditeur donné, le seuil d'audition est le niveau minimal de pression sonore d'un son spécifié capable de susciter une sensation auditive. Le son parvenant aux oreilles en provenance d'autres sources, comme la structure osseuse par exemple, est supposé insignifiant. Le seuil de douleur pour un auditeur donné est le niveau minimal de pression acoustique d'un son spécifié qui exerce une stimulation suscitant une sensation clairement douloureuse.

Dans la plage de fréquences de 2 à 4 kHz, où l'oreille est la plus sensible, la plage dynamique correspondant à la différence entre le seuil de douleur et le seuil d'audition est d'environ 140 dB.

L'audition se dégrade normalement avec l'âge: ce phénomène est appelé presbyacousie. Cette évolution est objectivée par une perte d'audition, c'est-à-dire l'écart en décibels entre le seuil d'audition des oreilles atteintes et le seuil d'audition standard pour une fréquence donnée. La presbyacousie est plus marquée chez les hommes que chez les femmes : cette différence s'explique par des expositions différentes au bruit au cours de notre vie. Il est ainsi prouvé qu'une exposition prolongée à un bruit intense, au travail par exemple, accélère le processus de vieillissement de l'audition et peut être à l'origine de pertes d'audition supérieures à la normale. Des pertes de l'ordre de 25 dB peuvent provoquer une dégradation appréciable de l'intelligibilité de la parole.

 

Sonie ou intensité physiologique

La sonie est l'attribut de la sensation auditive par lequel les sons s'ordonnent sur une échelle de faible à fort. Elle dépend principalement de la pression acoustique du stimulus, mais aussi de sa fréquence, de sa forme d'onde et de sa durée.

La sonie est caractérisée par des courbes isosoniques (voir graphique ci-dessous) qui représentent les valeurs liées de niveau de pression acoustique et de fréquence requises pour produire un niveau de sonie donné. Les courbes isosoniques dépendent du stimulus et du mode d'écoute.

Sonie ou intensité physiologique

Plus généralement, le niveau de sonie d'un son en phones est égal au niveau de pression acoustique d'une onde se propageant librement, d'une fréquence de 1 000 Hz, présentée à des auditeurs otologiquement normaux face à la source jugée aussi sonore que le son inconnu.

 

Tonie ou hauteur tonale

La tonie est l'attribut de la sensation auditive par lequel les sons peuvent être ordonnés sur une échelle, l'échelle psychoacoustique, allant du grave à l'aigu. Elle permet de reconnaître une mélodie. La tonie d'un son pur dépend principalement de la fréquence, de manière non linéaire, mais aussi de la pression acoustique, et très différemment d'une personne à une autre.

Pour un son harmonique, la tonie est pratiquement celle de la fondamentale, même si celle-ci est absente: l'oreille est donc sensible aux intervalles de fréquence entre harmoniques. On notera que la tonie dépend aussi de l'amplitude des harmonique : l'élimination de certaines harmoniques, au moyen de filtres par exemple, modifie la tonie.

La tonie de sons non harmoniques est fonction de l'amplitude des sons purs présents et de leur intervalle de fréquence. La tonie d'un son aléatoire dépend de la zone formante de son spectre, c'est-à-dire la partie de celui-ci où les composantes ont une amplitude relativement grande. Certains sons ont plusieurs zones formantes, ce qui rend leur tonie ambiguë. De même, le filtrage de sons percussifs (xylophone, par exemple) en change la tonie.

 

Hauteur harmonique ou musicale

Outre la tonie définie plus haut comme l'échelle psychoacoustique, on distingue la hauteur harmonique ou musicale, qui correspond à une échelle logarithmique de fréquences. La hauteur harmonique de la musique polyphonique occidentale et d'autres musiques traditionnelles est basée sur l'intervalle d'octave : deux sons distants d'une ou plusieurs octaves sont perçus comme similaires ou semblent même se fondre l'un dans l'autre, qu'ils soient entendus simultanément ou successivement. L'unisson à l'octave de voix ou d'instruments consiste à leur faire exécuter la même mélodie, mais avec un écart d'une ou de plusieurs octaves : on n'entend qu'une seule mélodie.

Si deux sons distants d'une ou de plusieurs octaves sont considérés équivalents, cela produit une hauteur harmonique relative, ce qui signifie que l'intervalle entre ces deux sons fait référence à la même octave.

La hauteur harmonique ne constitue une échelle auditive que pour des auditeurs ayant l'oreille musicale. Un auditeur doué de l'oreille absolue est capable de reconnaître la hauteur harmonique de n'importe quel son isolé. Il semblerait que cette qualité soit innée ; néanmoins, il est possible d'éduquer l'oreille en associant pour un instrument donné la hauteur et le timbre de chaque note. L'oreille musicale relative reconnaît l'intervalle entre deux sons entendus simultanément ou successivement. C'est ce qui importe réellement pour le musicien. L'entraînement peut améliorer cette capacité.

 

Timbre

Le timbre est l'attribut de la sensation auditive qui permet à un auditeur de différencier deux sons, présentés de manière identiques, et de même sonie et de même tonie. Il dépend principalement du spectre du son, mais aussi des transitoires (variations très rapides de l'amplitude) d'attaque et d'extinction.

Pour le psychoacousticien, qui étudie la perception subjective des sons par les êtres humains, le timbre est souvent une catégorie fourre-tout: si deux sons de sonie et de tonie identiques sont perçus comme différents, ils doivent avoir un timbre différent. Une coloration plus ou moins agréable est souvent associée au timbre. On le décrit par des termes et qualificatifs subjectifs qui sont souvent utilisés pour la peinture, tels que chaud, froid, plein, rond, perçant, aigu, brillant, mat, etc. En musique, un timbre renvoie avant tout à la tonalité des différents instruments, qui permet de les distinguer. Mais c'est plus que cela car le timbre est en partie déterminé par le mode d'émission du son, autrement dit l'attaque.

La qualité musicale d'un son ou, inversement, sa qualité de bruit est associée au timbre : la première est agréable, la seconde désagréable. De manière générale, un son harmonique est plus musical qu'un son aléatoire. C'est pourquoi le bruit est souvent défini comme un son inharmonique ou aléatoire complexe.

 

Consonance et dissonance

Lorsqu'il écoute simultanément deux sons purs, un auditeur a une impression désagréable ou indéfinie, appelée dissonance, dès que la différence de fréquence avoisine 6 à 8 Hz. La dissonance est la plus vive pour un intervalle proche du demi-ton tempéré.

Lorsque l'intervalle entre deux sons est un nombre entier d'octaves, la dissonance fait place à une consonance qui donne une impression calme de plénitude ou de complétude. Les deux sons paraissent former un seul son, comme s'ils étaient à l'unisson, c'est-à-dire de même fréquence.

Lorsqu'on écoute simultanément des sons ou séries harmoniques, la même impression de consonance est perçue si le ratio de leurs fondamentales est une simple fraction. Cette propriété peut s'expliquer par l'existence d'harmoniques communes ; plus elles sont nombreuses, meilleure est la consonance. Inversement, une dissonance est d'autant plus marquée que le nombre d'harmoniques communes est faible et que les écarts entre les autres harmoniques en présence sont faibles (battements et discordance).

Les intervalles musicaux peuvent être catégorisés par consonance décroissante. Se succèdent ainsi: l'unisson (1/1), l'octave (n/1), la quinte juste (3/2), la tierce majeure (5/4), la quarte juste (4/3), etc. On considère que l'intervalle d'une septième majeure (15/8) est le plus dissonant.

Enfin, il faut souligner que les consonances et les dissonances dépendent étroitement de l'expérience musicale de chaque individu et, plus généralement, de sa culture musicale.

 

Effet de masque

Lorsqu'on écoute deux sons de niveau différent, on observe un phénomène de masquage: le son masquant plus intense entraîne une diminution de la sonie du son masqué, moins intense, par rapport à sa sonie avant l'introduction du son masquant.

L'effet de masque dépend des caractéristiques des sons en présence et du mode d'écoute: il est étudié en déterminant la mesure dans laquelle la présence du son masquant augmente le seuil d'audibilité du son masqué.

Ce comportement de l'audition humaine a été pris en compte dans la définition des algorithmes de compression pour tous les formats audio numériques avec pertes, tels le MP3. Alors que le débit du flux audio linéaire d'un CD audio est de 1 411 kbps, le débit d'un fichier MP3 de qualité Internet courante est de 128 kbps, ce qui représente un ratio de compression d'environ 11:1. Est-ce faisable sans diminuer l'information? Non. Alors, tout en diminuant l'information, comment peut-on préserver une qualité de son acceptable? Il existe une solution très simple, qui consiste à tirer parti de l'effet de masque; dans ce cas, cela suppose d'éliminer certains signaux ou certaines parties du signal qui, de toute façon, auraient été masqués par le cerveau.

 

Localisation

La localisation est l'aptitude à localiser une source sonore dans l'espace. Elle n'est possible qu'en situation d'écoute binaurale, c'est-à-dire avec les deux oreilles. Bien qu'assez précise sur le plan horizontal, elle est médiocre en ce qui concerne l'angle d'élévation et la distance. Deux phénomènes expliquent la localisation horizontale de la source sonore:

La tête fait obstacle à la propagation du son et crée une ombre acoustique pour les sons dont la longueur d'onde est plus courte que ses dimensions. Pour une source latérale, il y a donc un écart de sonie entre les deux oreilles, qui permet de situer la source. Ce phénomène n'intervient qu'au-dessus de 400 Hz environ.

La diffraction étant fonction de la fréquence, le timbre d'un son complexe est modifié en fonction de la position de la source et offre donc un autre moyen de localiser la source. Ce mode nécessite d'acquérir suffisamment d'informations sur la modification du timbre par rapport à la direction de la source et dépend donc de l'expérience de chaque individu.

La différence de trajectoire du son engendre un délai entre les instants d'arrivée du son à chaque oreille. Lorsqu'on est immobile, ce délai correspond à une différence de phase, qui permet de localiser la source s'il est inférieur à une demi-longueur d'onde. C'est le cas des fréquences d'environ 800 Hz.

Les expériences portant sur la localisation de la source sonore, en particulier celles qui sont réalisées avec des casques, montrent que les êtres humains sont capables de détecter des délais de l'ordre de 10 microsecondes. Le seuil otologique normal, c'est-à-dire la sensibilité normale, est à peu près égal à 40 microsecondes.

Les phénomènes décrits ci-dessus se combinent les uns les autres et permettent de localiser une source avec une précision croissante en fonction de la complexité croissante du son. Pour les sons purs de basse fréquence, il existe une ambiguïté entre la localisation avant et arrière. Le décalage temporel ne suffit pas à lui seul pour localiser correctement la source.

La localisation du point de vue de l'angle d'élévation peut être expliquée par la diffraction causée par la tête, mais surtout par le pavillon de l'oreille. Cette diffraction engendre des pics et des creux dans le spectre du son incident et induit ainsi différents timbres. Il semble bien que les individus acquièrent une expérience d'écoute suffisante pour pouvoir associer ces variations de timbre aux différents angles d'élévation.

Laboratoire de psychoacoustique

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


La Phonothèque nationale suisse fait partie de la Bibliothèque nationale suisse


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: