Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

VisualAudio

The idea

By observing the surface of a record with the assistance of a microscope, the variation of the groove is easily visible. It should be possible to restore the sound starting from a picture of a record!

This idea was born in the summer of 1999, in a three-parties discussion, sitting comfortably on the banks of lake Lugano on a warm, sunny day, between the technical manager of the FN Stefano S. Cavaglieri (creator and holder of the intellectual property, initiator of the project), the former director of M & C Management and Communications SA Pierre Hemmer (co-initiator of the project), and the Director of the FN Pio Pellizzari (co-initiator of the project).

The research, combined with a bit of luck, allowed us to find, in the school of engineering and architecture of Fribourg (mettere link), the ideal partner to at first study the feasibility, and then start a multidisciplinary project that, thanks to the enthusiasm of professors and students, has progressed with great success over the years.

The principle

A high-resolution picture of each side of the record is taken. The film becomes the carrier containing the information. The information is digitized using a circular scanner. Various algorithms process the image in order to extract and reconstruct the sound.

Principles of VisualAudio

For further information, technical details, and some sound samples: English

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

VisualAudio

L'idée

Quand nous observons la surface d'un disque enregistré sous le microscope, nous pouvons facilement voir les oscillations du sillon. Il doit être possible de récupérer le son en partant d'une photographie du disque!

Cette idée est née en été 1999 au cours d'une discussion à trois, assis confortablement sur la rive du lac de Lugano par une journée ensoleillée, entre le responsable technique de la PhN, Stefano S. Cavaglieri (inventeur et détenteur de la propriété intellectuelle, initiateur du projet), l'alors directeur de la société M&C Management and Consulting SA, Pierre Hemmer (co-initiateur du projet), et le directeur de la PhN , Pio Pellizzari (co-initiateur du projet).

Notre recherche, aidée par un grain de chance, nous a permis de trouver en l'école polytechnique et d'architecture de Fribourg un partenaire idéal pour étudier d'abord la faisabilité de l'idée et ensuite pour mettre en route un projet interdisciplinaire qui à progressé avec beaucoup de succès au cours des années, grâce aussi à l'enthousiasme des professeurs et des étudiants.

Le principe

On prend une photo à haute résolution des deux faces du disque. La pellicule devient le support qui contient l'information. L'information est ensuite digitalisée par un scanner circulaire. Plusieurs algorythmes élaborent l'image obtenue afin d'en extraire le son et de le reconstruire.

Principes de VisualAudio

Pour de plus amples renseignements, détails techniques ou quelques exemples sonores: anglais

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: