Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Gramophone - Historical recordings from the Swiss National Sound Archives

THE TASK OF SAFEGUARDING

Conditioning

The disc, if its state of preservation allows it, is first of all washed. The state of preservation of the materials, the type of disc and the number of copies to be treated determine the choice of the type of washing process. Two Keith Monks devices are available for the brush washing of single discs and an ultrasonic device for the simultaneous treatment of several discs together. During this first treatment, the original cover of the disc, which is often in a bad shape, is replaced with an acid free paper envelope lined with polyethylene and an acid free cardboard cover.

All the materials that come into contact with the discs, including the liquids used for washing, have been studied and selected with care by the Swiss National Sound Archives and subsequently tested by EMPA (Federal Laboratory for Materials Testing and Research) to certify their suitability for long-term archiving.

The cylinders, especially those made of wax, can not be washed. If necessary they are just cleaned using a soft brush or a microfiber cloth. The original packaging of the cylinder is replaced with a special acid-free cardboard box.

Washing of 78 rpm/discs

Original covers

Acid free paper envelope lined with polyethylene



Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Gramophone - Historical recordings from the Swiss National Sound Archives

LE TRAVAIL DE SAUVEGARDE

Le conditionnement

Le disque, si son état de conservation le permet, est tout d'abord lavé. L'état de conservation des matériaux, le type de disque et le numéro des exemplaires à traiter déterminent le choix du procédé de lavage. Deux appareils Keith Monks sont à disposition pour le lavage à brosses d'un seul disque et un appareil à ultrasons pour le traitement simultané de plusieurs disques. Durant cette première opération, l'emballage, souvent en mauvais état, est substitué par une enveloppe de papier exempt d'acide et polyéthylène et par une couverture en carton, également exempt d'acides.

Tous les matériaux qui entrent en contact avec les disques, y compris les liquides pour le lavage, ont été étudiés et choisis avec soin par les techniciens de la Phonothèque et ensuite testés par l'EMPA qui certifie que leur emploi est indiqué pour un archivage à long terme.

Les cylindres, surtout celles en cire, ne peuvent pas être lavés. Le cas échéant, ils sont nettoyés avec une brosse à poils doux ou avec un linge en microfibres. L'emballage d'origine du cylindre est remplacé par une boîte appropriée en carton spécial sans acides.

Lavage de disques 78 t/min.

Couvertures originales

Enveloppe de papier exempt d'acide et polyéthylène



Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: