Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Gramophone - Historical recordings from the Swiss National Sound Archives

THE TASK OF SAFEGUARDING

Copying (analysis and analog to digital conversion)

Once the washing phase is concluded, the disc moves on to the audio studio, where it is examined under a microscope to determine the dimensions and shape of the groove and to verify the physical state of its surface. These measurements and checks allow us to choose the most suitable stylus for playing the disc. The indications on the label (brand, catalog and matrix numbers) allow us to set the equalization and rotation speed correctly. Lastly, in difficult cases, to obtain even better results, the geometry of the reading arm is optimized.

The turntable signal is converted from analog to digital and "leveled" to ensure the best dynamics and signal/interference relationship. The digital signal is recorded on high resolution WAV files. Those files will contain only what is extracted from a single document (disc or set of discs), and they will be considered as the first generation "archival copy". Any subsequent copying or processing will be derived from this copy.

All the working phases, as well as the equipment used and the adjustments made are documented to allow the exact copying process to be reconstructed even in the future. The time necessary to copy a 78 rpm disc can be quantified as 4 times the total duration of the disc. On average, therefore, considering a duration of 8 min for both sides, it takes about 30 minutes of working time.

The copying process for the cylinders is very similar to that of the 78rpm records. The only major difference concerns the size and shape of the groove, which are limited to 2-3 different types and that generally no equalization is applied.

Disc

Copying

Cylinder

Copying



Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Gramophone - Historical recordings from the Swiss National Sound Archives

DIE AUFGABE DER AUFBEWAHRUNG

Kopieren (Analyse und Konvertierung von Analog nach Digital)

Nach der Reinigung kommt die Platte ins Tonstudio, wo als erstes unter dem Mikroskop die Dimension und Form der Rille sowie der physische Zustand der Oberfläche untersucht werden. Auf Grund dieser Messungen wird die am besten geeignete Nadel für das Abspielen gewählt. Mit Hilfe der Angaben auf der Etikette (Marke, Bestell- und Matrizennummer) werden die Entzerrung und die korrekte Drehgeschwindigkeit festgelegt. In schwierigen Fällen wird zusätzlich die Form des Tonarms reguliert, um ein noch besseres Resultat zu erzielen.

Das Signal aus dem Plattenspieler wird von analog zu digital konvertiert und so nivelliert, dass man die bestmögliche Dynamik und das beste Verhältnis zwischen Tonsignal und Geräusch erzielt. Das Digitalsignal ist als WAV-Datei in hoher Auflösung gespeichert. Eine WAV Datei soll nur den Inhalt eines einzigen Dokumentes (eine Platte oder ein Plattenset) aufbewahren und wird als "Archivkopie" der ersten Generation bezeichnet. Jede weitere Kopie oder Bearbeitung wird von dieser Archivkopie aus gemacht.

Alle Arbeitsschritte sowie die verwendeten Geräte und Regulationen werden dokumentiert, um auch in Zukunft den genauen Kopierprozess rekonstruieren zu können. Die Zeit, die notwendig ist, um eine 78-Touren-Platte zu kopieren, beträgt etwa das 4-fache der Klangdauer der Platte: Im Mittel also - ausgehend von etwa 8 Minuten für die beiden Seiten - etwa ungefähr 30 Minuten Arbeitszeit.

Der Kopierprozess von Zylindern ist demjenigen der 78-Touren–Platten ähnlich. Die wichtigsten Unterschiede finden sich in der Grösse und der Form der Rille, zwischen 2-3 verschiedenen Rillentypen und dem normalerweise Weglassen der Entzerrung.

Platte

Kopieren

Cylinder

Kopieren



Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Eidgenössisches Departement des Innern EDI - Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek NB


© Schweizerische Nationalphonothek. Alle Rechte der elektronischen Veröffentlichung sind der Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek, Lugano, vorbehalten. Die kommerzielle Verwendung der Informationen ist untersagt.
Elektronisch publizierte Informationen und Zitate unterliegen den gleichen Regeln wie gedruckte Texte. Es gilt das Schweizerische Urheberrechtsgesetz (URG). Für Copyright und Zitierregeln siehe: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_de.htm

URL: