Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Gramophone - Historical recordings from the Swiss National Sound Archives

THE TASK OF SAFEGUARDING

Copying (analysis and analog to digital conversion)

Once the washing phase is concluded, the disc moves on to the audio studio, where it is examined under a microscope to determine the dimensions and shape of the groove and to verify the physical state of its surface. These measurements and checks allow us to choose the most suitable stylus for playing the disc. The indications on the label (brand, catalog and matrix numbers) allow us to set the equalization and rotation speed correctly. Lastly, in difficult cases, to obtain even better results, the geometry of the reading arm is optimized.

The turntable signal is converted from analog to digital and "leveled" to ensure the best dynamics and signal/interference relationship. The digital signal is recorded on high resolution WAV files. Those files will contain only what is extracted from a single document (disc or set of discs), and they will be considered as the first generation "archival copy". Any subsequent copying or processing will be derived from this copy.

All the working phases, as well as the equipment used and the adjustments made are documented to allow the exact copying process to be reconstructed even in the future. The time necessary to copy a 78 rpm disc can be quantified as 4 times the total duration of the disc. On average, therefore, considering a duration of 8 min for both sides, it takes about 30 minutes of working time.

The copying process for the cylinders is very similar to that of the 78rpm records. The only major difference concerns the size and shape of the groove, which are limited to 2-3 different types and that generally no equalization is applied.

Disc

Copying

Cylinder

Copying



Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Gramophone - Historical recordings from the Swiss National Sound Archives

LE TRAVAIL DE SAUVEGARDE

Copiage (analyse et conversion du analogique au numérique)

La phase du lavage terminée, le disque passe au studio audio où il est examiné au microscope dans le but de relever les dimensions et la forme du sillon et vérifier l'état physique de sa superficie. Ces mesures et vérifications permettent de choisir l'aiguille ou le saphir le mieux adapté. Les indications reportées sur l'étiquette (marque, numéro commercial et de matrice) permettent d'établir l'égalisation et la vitesse de rotation correctes. Pour terminer, dans les cas difficiles, pour obtenir un meilleur résultat, on optimise la géométrie du bras de lecture.

Le signal du tourne-disques est converti d'analogique à numérique et nivelé de façon à garantir la meilleure dynamique et le meilleur rapport signal/dérangement. Le signal numérique est enregistré sur fichier WAV à haute résolution. Ces fichiers sont destinés à conserver le contenu extrait d'un seul document (disque ou set de disques) et sera considérée comme "copie d'archives" de première génération. Chaque copiage ou élaboration successive sera dérivé de cette copie.

Toutes les phases du travail ainsi que les appareillages employés et les réglages seront documentés de façon à permettre plus tard la reconstruction exacte du processus du copiage. Le temps nécessaire pour copier un disque 78 1/min. peut être quantifié en 4 fois la durée totale du disque: donc en moyenne considérant une durée de 8 min pour les deux faces, on emploie environ 30 minutes de travail.

Le processus de copiage des cylindres est semblable à celui des disques 78 1/min. Les seules différences de relief concernent la grandeur et la forme du sillon, limités à 2-3 différents types, et le fait de ne pas appliquer, de norme, aucune égalisation.

Disque

Copiage

Cylindre

Copiage



Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: