Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Gramophone - Historical recordings from the Swiss National Sound Archives

THE TASK OF SAFEGUARDING

The digital archives

The digital copies of the sound recordings are stored in the digital archives.
The primary purpose of the digital archives is to store for an indefinite time backup and access copies of the content of the physical audio carriers stored at the Swiss National Sound Archives. The aim therefore is not to replace the traditional physical archives, but rather to provide a supplementary facility.
An archive of this kind is a rather complex and onerous system. It requires the supervision of specialized personnel and the definition, and compliance with, very precise work-flows and security schemes. Among the obvious benefits we can however immediately mention the following:

  • The service offered to users can be improved, as it is now possible to listen to a particular recording from a remote station - until now, to listen to a document, the user had to go personally to the premises of the Swiss National Sound Archives in Lugano.
  • The possibility of access to the documents, in the long term, is less subject to the phenomenon of technological obsolescence - large quantities of obsolete audio carriers are stored in the physical archives of any organization, so it is very difficult, if not impossible, to find the correct reproduction device.
  • As this is a standard IT system, its use is not limited to a single type of content - such as audio, for example.

The Swiss National Sound Archives has been able to implement this facility thanks to its close collaboration with SUN Microsystems (Schweiz) AG.

Digital archive

Digital archive



Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Gramophone - Historical recordings from the Swiss National Sound Archives

LE TRAVAIL DE SAUVEGARDE

Archives numériques

Les copies numériques des supports sonores sont conservées dans les archives numériques.
Les archives numériques peuvent être considérées comme le dernier morceau du puzzle dans le concept global de l'archivage. Le but principal de l'archivage numérique est le stockage à temps indéterminé de copies de sûreté, ainsi que de l'accès au contenus de supports sonores physiques gardés par la Phonothèque nationale suisse. Il ne s'agit donc pas d'un substitut des archives physiques traditionnelles mais bien d'un élément complémentaire.

Des archives de ce type représentent un système plutôt complexe et onéreux qui requiert la supervision de personnel spécialisé, la définition et le respect des flux du travail ainsi que des schémas de sûreté bien précis. Entre les différents bénéfices visibles immédiatement, on peut citer:

  • On est en mesure d'améliorer le service aux usagers parce qu'il est possible d'activer l'écoute d'un enregistrement déterminé à distance - jusqu'à ce jour, pour écouter un document sonore, l'usager devait se rendre directement à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, à Lugano.
  • L'accès aux documents, à long terme, est moins sujet au phénomène d'obsolescence - dans les archives physiques de chaque institut, d'innombrables documents sonores obsolètes sont délaissés à cause des difficultés ou même de l'impossibilité de trouver l'appareil de reproduction adéquat.
  • S'agissant d'un système informatique standard, l'emploi n'est pas limité à une seule forme de contenus - comme pourrait l'être par exemple l'audio.

La Phonothèque nationale suisse a pu réaliser cette structure grâce à une étroite collaboration avec SUN Microsystems (Schweiz) AG.

Archives numériques

Archives numériques



Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: