Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Documentation

Elements for cataloging

  1. Introduction

    The audio document

    The increasing importance of audiovisual documents as an integral part of the world's memory has led to a development of archiving activity that has somewhat taken by surprise those who work in the field of institutional archives. However, for a few decades now, the practical experience of audiovisual archiving has provided us with a basis for codifying this activity. Audiovisual archiving - that is to say collecting, preserving, managing and making available the audiovisual heritage - has earned its own place and may now be considered a profession in its own right. As this activity is still in its youth, its resources and skills are still evolving and developing, progressively but at a fast rate.

    cataloging rules and schemes

    Over the years, a certain number of rules have been developed for cataloging to allow the consistent creation of catalogs and to facilitate exchanges of information (AACR2; ISBD; FIAF Rules for cataloging film archives; Code international de catalogage de la musique de la IAML, etc.). These models have the drawback, however, of having inherited structures originally developed for books and, therefore, simply a more or less adequate adaptation of these rules. This approach inevitably sacrifices the specific characteristics of audio documents, which are forced into schemes that do not bring out their specificity. It is evident that audio documents have specific physical and bibliographical characteristics and, in particular, audio recording is characterized by the presence of sound produced and reproduced for listening. For example, a musical piece is not immediately accessible, as it needs a translation (in the particular case of a recording) to allow access to it for listening. The recording itself is composed of various passages and elements: a musical work, its performance, its recording, its reproduction in a readable format and, lastly, the actual listening phase. An important step in the intellectual description of the content of this complexity of elements comes from the conceptual scheme of documentation called FRBR (Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records). It is a structure based on the relationships existing between the work (= musical composition), expression (= performance), manifestation (= formats) and subject matter. This facilitates analytical cataloging, or rather the possibility of using as cataloging units either the carrier as a whole, or each recorded work as an independent unit linked to a multiple content carrier.

    The proposal of the IASA that, with its "The IASA cataloging rules", has tried to harmonize the AACR2 and ISBD (NBM) rules, broadening and characterizing them for audiovisual carriers, is also important.

    These efforts are a response to the ongoing demand to facilitate exchanges of metadata among the different databases through the use of common platforms and the Internet (for example MARC, Dublin Core and MPEG-7).

  2. Elements for cataloging

    Rules:

    The indications that follow are intended merely to establish some general and logical principles in order to avoid apparent contradictions in the cataloging of audio carriers. It is evident that the way in which the data are entered into the system and their form will have to correspond to the rules and methods used by the institution concerned in relation to the needs of its users. The principles are those of every cataloging system: to give the maximum quantity of information and to allow the user to make a search using all the possible access methods.

    Source of information:

    In this type of material, there is no primary source of information. The information useful for description purposes is disseminated on the carrier itself, on the label, on the cover or on its container, and on any illustrative or accompanying material. To achieve a satisfactory level of consistency of the data, it is important to choose an order of preference.

    Data:

    Categories of information that must not be omitted:

    1. Description of the physical carrier and its publication
    2. Content of the recording and its technical execution
    3. Description of the copies
    4. Identification

    1. Technical and formal indications

      Every type of carrier may be a container for any content, but it also has in itself a specificity of "reading" that must be highlighted in order to be able to access the actual content. It is therefore imperative for the cataloging of audio carriers to define the type of carrier and its physical and technical characteristics (carrier type/format, quantity of carriers, speed of reproduction, dimensions, recording technique, material, etc.) as well as its state of preservation.

      For the identification of commercial production, the data related to the publication of the carrier are important: the label, the catalogue number assigned by the record company, the stamper IDs or matrix number (above all for historical carriers), the bar code or other identification codes, as well as the date of publication and the holders of the various copyrights and production rights.

    2. Indications on the content:

      Titles:
      We may find various titles on a sound carrier, and all of them can be important: the generic Title given to the carrier as a whole, the Title of a series, the Title of a musical work, the Title of a radio broadcast, the Title of an audio recording of a literary work, of an interview, of a scientific research study, etc. Other more detailed descriptions, such as the kind, the language of the recording and, in particular, for oral documents, the summary, key words, names, places and dates mentioned can undoubtedly help the potential user to make the most of a documentary resource.

      Participants:
      To the titles must be associated the names of the respective authors (composer, arranger, lyricists, scientific authors, etc.), as well as any type of participant together with details that can identify him or her better (performer with his/her instrument or voice, interviewee, actor with his/her role, informant of a scientific research study, etc.).

      Recording:
      The recording technicians, the recording conditions, the date of the recording as well as the locality or place and circumstance of the recording, are details that should not be lost, as they are important for a better contextualization of the sound document.

    3. Description of the copies:

      The transfer of the content onto another carrier or format for the purpose of preservation or consultation may be necessary or practical, but this operation entails the risk of causing the loss of essential informational or contextual elements.
      In every job of transfer, preservation and restoration, the documentation of the operations carried out and the choices made is therefore essential for the preservation of the integrity of the works in the long term. For the same reason, after the transfer, the preservation team should avoid eliminating the original carrieers together with their packaging, as they are precious sources for technical, historical and cultural contextualization, which cannot be transferred onto a new carrier.

    4. Identification:

      The archiveor call number, which clearly and univocally marks a document, should also make it possible to recognize the type of carrier at the first reading, as well as being used as a basic file name for the digitized copies and stored on a computer system.

    Associated material:

    It is important and necessary that audiovisual archives collect, together with the holdings of audio documents, also the so-called "Associated or Accompanying Material", which includes all those documents and artifacts that allow us to determine the context of the audio recording. This gives audiovisual archives their double role of archive and museum.

    This material may vary and include the equipment and technical instruments necessary to read the audio carriers (period or modern instruments, spare parts, ...), as well as the entire documentation regarding the history of the audio carriers and the recording technique or record production.

    All the accompanying documents and all the complementary information (manuscripts, illustrations, testimonies of every kind) linked to any preserved collection also belong to the audio heritage.

    The selection criterion for this material is that it is collected not for just for the sake of collecting, but rather it is selected for its intrinsic relationship with particular recordings or personalities, or for the phenomenon of the recorded sound in itself, or for its industrial, artistic or social nature in the world of audio-recording.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Dokumentation

Elemente der Katalogisierung

  1. Einführung

    Das Tondokument

    Katalogisierungsregeln und -schemata

    Im Laufe der Jahre wurden bestimmte Katalogisierungsregeln ausgearbeitet, um Kataloge konsistent anzulegen und um den Informationsaustausch zu erleichtern (AACR2, ISBD, FIAF Cataloguing Rules for Film Archives, IAML International Cataloguing Code on Music usw.). Diese Modelle sind allerdings durch ursprünglich für Bibliotheksmaterial konzipierte Strukturen geprägt, d.h. sie bilden eine mehr oder weniger angemessene Anpassung an diese Standards. Die Besonderheiten der Tondokumente werden dadurch jedoch "geopfert" bzw. in Schemata gedrängt, die ihre spezifischen Merkmale nicht zur Geltung bringen. Tondokumente besitzen spezifische physische und bibliografische Eigenschaften: So ist insbesondere die Tonaufnahme durch den produzierten und für das Hören wiedergegebenen Klang gekennzeichnet. Ein Musikstück z.B. kann nicht direkt zugänglich, es benötigt dafür eine "Übersetzung" (in diesem Falle eine Aufnahme), um zu es anhören zu können. Die eigentliche Aufnahme besteht aus mehreren Schritten und Elementen: Das Musikwerk, die Aufführung, die Aufzeichnung, die Wiedergabe in einem lesbaren Format und schliesslich das Hören. Einen wichtigen Schritt bei der theoretischen Beschreibung dieser komplexen Inhaltselemente macht das als Dokumentationsschema definierte FRBR (Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records). Dabei handelt es sich um eine Struktur, die auf dem Verhältnis zwischen dem Werk (= Musikkomposition), der Darbietung (=Aufführung), der Äusserung (=Formate) und dem Objekt beruht. Dies erleichtert die analytische Katalogisierung: Der Tonträger als Ganzes wird als Katalogisierungseinheit betrachtet und das aufgezeichnete Werk als unabhängige Einheit, die mit einem Tonträger mit verschiedenen Inhalten verbunden ist.

    Wichtig sind auch die Empfehlungen der IASA, die mit der Veröffentlichung der "The IASA Cataloging Rules" versucht, die Regeln AACR2 und ISBE (NBM) für Tonträger durch Erweiterungen, Ergänzungen zu charakterisieren und zu harmonisieren.

    Diese Arbeiten zeugen von den kontinuierlichen Bemühungen zur Förderung des Austausches von Metadaten über gemeinsame Plattformen oder über das Internet (z.B. MARC, Dublin Core und MPEG-7).

  2. Elemente der Katalogisierung

    Regeln:

    Die folgenden Angaben sollen bestimmte grundlegende und logische Prinzipien niederlegen, um offensichtliche Widersprüche in der Katalogisierung von Tonträgern zu vermeiden. Die Erfassung und die Form der Daten müssen den Regeln und Methoden der jeweiligen Institution, die von den Benutzerbedürfnissen abhängen, entsprechen. Es gelten die allgemeinen Grundsätze der Katalogisierung: ein Maximum an Informationen anbieten, damit der Benutzer unter Einsatz aller Möglichkeiten suchen kann.

    Informationsquellen:

    Beim Tonträgermaterial fehlt häufig die primäre Informationsquelle. Die für die Beschreibung zweckdienlichen Informationen sind verstreut auf dem eigentlichen Tonträger, auf dem Label, dem Deckblatt oder der Hülle und gegebenenfalls in den Broschüren und Begleitdokumenten zu finden. Um ausreichend konstante Daten zu erzielen, muss eine Präferenzreihenfolge aufgestellt werden.

    Daten:

    Unverzichtbare Informationsgruppen:

    1. Beschreibung des physischen Tonträgers und der Veröffentlichung
    2. Inhalt der Aufzeichnung und technische Realisierung
    3. Beschreibung der Kopien
    4. Identifizierung

    1. Formale, technische Angaben:

      Jeder Tonträgertyp kann beliebige Inhalte enthalten und weist daneben eine spezifische Leseeigenschaft auf, die aufgezeigt werden muss, um den Inhalt zu erschliessen. Für die Katalogisierung der Tonträger und Tondateien müssen deshalb die Art des Tonträgers oder der Tondatei sowie die physisch-technischen Merkmale (Typ/Format des Tonträgers, Anzahl Tonträger, Wiedergabegeschwindigkeit, Dimensionen, Aufzeichnungstechniken, Material usw.) sowie der physische Zustand des Trägers festgehalten werden.

      Die Daten zur Veröffentlichung des Trägers spielen eine wichtige Rolle für die Identifizierung der Produktion: Label, Bestellnummer der Schallplattenfirma, Matrizen-Nr. (vor allem für historische Tonträger), Strichcode oder sonstige Identifizierungscodes, Publikationsdatum sowie Inhaber von Urheber- oder Wiedergaberechten.

    2. Angaben zum Inhalt:

      Titel:
      Auf einem Tonträger sind bisweilen mehrere wichtige Titel zu finden: Allgemeiner Titel des gesamten Tonträgers, Serientitel, Titel eines Musikwerks, Titel einer Radiosendung, Titel einer gesprochenen Aufnahme eines literarischen Werks, Interviews, einer wissenschaftlichen Forschung usw. Weitere detaillierte Beschreibungen - z.B. Genre, Aufnahmesprache und besonders für gesprochene Dokumente die Zusammenfassung, Schlüsselbegriffe, zitierte Namen, Orte und Daten sind für den Benutzer hilfreich, um sämtliche Dokumentationsressourcen zu nutzen.

      Beteiligte:
      Die Titel sind mit den jeweiligen Autoren (Komponist, Arrangeur, Songtexter, wissenschaftlicher Autor usw.) und mit den verschiedenen Kategorien der Beteiligten zu verknüpfen, die mit weiteren Details besser identifiziert werden können (Interpret mit Instrument oder Stimme, Interviewter, Schauspieler mit Rolle, Informanten bei einer wissenschaftlichen Forschung usw.).

      Aufnahme:
      Techniker, Aufnahmebedingungen, Datum, Ort, räumliche Umstände der Aufnahme: Alle diese Details müssen festgehalten werden, um das Tondokument im jeweiligen Kontext genauer zu positionieren.

    3. Beschreibung der Kopien:

      Bisweilen ist die Übertragung des Inhalts auf einen anderen Träger zwecks Langzeitarchivierung oder Konsultation notwendig und praktisch. Allerdings besteht dabei die Gefahr, wesentliche Informations- oder Kontextelemente zu verlieren.
      Alle Vorgänge einer Übertragung, Konservierungsmassnahmen und Restaurierung und die getroffenen Entscheidungen müssen dokumentiert werden, um die Integrität der Werke langfristig zu sichern. Aus dem gleichen Grund dürfen die Konservatoren die Originaltonträger und die Verpackung nach der Übertragung nicht entsorgen, weil es sich um wertvolle Quellen für den technischen, historischen und kulturellen Kontext handelt, die nicht auf einen neuen Träger transferiert werden können.

    4. Identifizierung:

      Die Archivnummer, die ein Dokument eindeutig kennzeichnet, soll erlauben, den Tonträgertyp beim Lesen zu erkennen. Zudem soll die Archivnummer für digitalisierte Kopien als Filenummer und in einem Informatiksystem verwendet werden können.

    Dazugehöriges Material:

    Die Sammeltätigkeit der audiovisuellen Archive muss neben den eigentlichen Tondokumenten auch das "dazugehörige" oder "Begleitmaterial" umfassen: Dazu zählen alle Dokumente und sonstigen erstellten Artikel, aus denen der Kontext der Tonaufzeichnung zu entnehmen ist. Dies verleiht den audiovisuellen Archiven die Doppeleigenschaft als Archiv und als Museum.

    Dabei kann es sich um unterschiedliches Material handeln. Dazu gehören die Geräte und technischen Instrumente, die zum Lesen der Tondokumente gebraucht werden (historische oder moderne Geräte, Ersatzteile usw.) sowie die gesamte Dokumentation über die Geschichte der Tonträger, der Aufnahmetechnik oder der Plattenproduktion.

    Zum auditiven Erbe gehören ausserdem sämtliche Begleitdokumente und Zusatzinformationen (Handschriften, Illustrationen, verschiedenste Zeugenberichte) im Zusammenhang mit allen aufbewahrten Beständen.

    Das Sammeln von solchem Material ist nicht ein Ziel an und für sich, sondern hat als Auswahlkriterium den direkten Bezug zu besonderen Tonaufnahmen oder Persönlichkeiten, zu speziellen Phänomenen der Klangaufzeichnung oder zu der industriellen, künstlerischen und sozialen Bedeutung für die Welt der Tonaufnahme.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Eidgenössisches Departement des Innern EDI - Schweizerische Nationalbibliothek NB


© Schweizerische Nationalphonothek. Alle Rechte der elektronischen Veröffentlichung sind der Schweizerischen Nationalphonothek, Lugano, vorbehalten. Die kommerzielle Verwendung der Informationen ist untersagt.
Elektronisch publizierte Informationen und Zitate unterliegen den gleichen Regeln wie gedruckte Texte. Es gilt das Schweizerische Urheberrechtsgesetz (URG). Für Copyright und Zitierregeln siehe: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_de.htm

URL: