Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Preservation

First aid

The first 48 hours make the difference

In case of fire, flood or earthquake, audio carriers also run serious risks. The most frequent kinds of damage are warping, chemical decomposition and deterioration of the surfaces.

The losses following extreme situations are due mainly to physical damage to the materials. Many forms of degradation worsen with time. It is therefore important to act as soon as possible after the occurrence of the event and before the first reproduction attempt is made. Otherwise, permanent damage may be caused, and its extent generally exceeds that caused by the event itself.

The recovery and cleaning work should be performed by qualified personnel. After any accident, call in an experienced professional. As soon as the place where the accident took place is made safe from all risks entailing possible injuries to people, remove the audio carriers to avoid them becoming dirty or even more damaged.

If the damage is caused by black wastewater, the personnel involved must wear protective garments. The audio carriers must be transported with caution in plastic containers or cardboard cartons covered with plastic envelopes, keeping them always in a vertical position so as not to subject to stresses the recorded or grooved surfaces.

In case of contamination by liquid chemical substances, do not change the position and do not rotate the audio carriers, as you could contribute to the spread of the liquid. The audio carriers need to be protected against impacts with padding and insulated against temperature oscillations.

Wet audio carriers are particularly subject to degradation. Within just 24 hours mold can form. To avoid general infestation with mold, preserve these materials in a cold and dry environment until the time of the recovery operation. Before drying them, eliminate any impurities. To clean them, use distilled or cold demineralized water only.

With the exception of the markings and other labels, remove any wet paper accompanying material as soon as possible to avoid accumulations of water and the possible formation of mold. In addition to mold, the danger of oxidation of any metallic covering also exists.

Unlike paper, wet audio carriers cannot be frozen or cryodried. However, desiccation through exposure to a heat source should be avoided. Do not reproduce the wet, or already dried, audio carriers without a prior analysis by the technical personnel.

Dry particles, for example soot following a fire, or the dust caused by an earthquake, scatters in the environment and can be eliminated easily with an air jet. Preserve the audio carriers that have been contaminated by these particles in isolated places until the cleaning operations have been completed. Do not eliminate this type of dirt using liquids. Do not open either exposed covers or containers until the risk of contamination by dry particles has been eliminated, as the materials stored inside have not yet been contaminated.

For thorough cleaning of tapes, it may be necessary to remove them from the reel cores. It is possible that it may be necessary to dismount the cores from the reels, cassettes or cartridges to clean or replace them. A tape removed from the reel core becomes particularly fragile. It can be cleaned only by specially trained personnel and it cannot be rewound, reproduced or stored before the cleaning process is completed.

Before storage, reproduction or cleaning, the audio carriers must be acclimatised in a special room, under stable environmental conditions.

In addition to the obvious threats for the audio carriers, in case of catastrophic events, the archiving control of the material is also at risk. The classification markings and the information shown on the labels, on the covers or on the containers may fade away, so you should dedicate particular care to their recovery. If a sound carrier is removed from its container during the cleaning process, affix a note to it documenting the object in a precise way and containing the information necessary for its identification.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Conservation

Premier secours

Les premières 48 heures font la différence

En cas d'incendie, d'inondation ou de tremblement de terre, les supports sonores courent aussi de graves dangers. Les dommages plus fréquents sont: la déformation, la décomposition chimique et la détérioration des superficies.

Les pertes à la suite de situations extrêmes dérivent principalement des dommages physiques au matériaux. Beaucoup de formes de dégradation empirent avec le temps, il, est donc important d'agir le plus rapidement possible, après le dégât et avant qu'il ne se reproduise.Autrement, les supports peuvent subir des dégâts permanents dont l'ampleur dépasse généralement ceux causés par l'événement en soi.

Les travaux de nettoyage et de récupération devraient être exécutés principalement par du personnel qualifié.Après un accident, convoquez un professionnel expert en la matière. Aussitôt que les lieux de l'accident sont à nouveau sans dangers pour les personnes, commencez à recueillir les supports sonores afin d'éviter qu'ils se salissent ou s'endommagent ultérieurement.

Dans le cas où les supports sonores sont endommagés par des eaux sales, le personnel chargé doit porter des vêtements de protection. Les supports sonores doivent être transportés avec attention dans des conteneurs en plastique ou des cartons doublés d'enveloppes de plastique, toujours en position verticale de manière à ne pas solliciter les superficies enregistrées.

En cas de contamination par des substances chimiques liquides, ne pas modifier la position des supports et ne pas les rouler car vous pourriez contribuer à la diffusion du liquide. Les supports sonores doivent être protégés des chocs au moyen d'un rembourrage et protégés des écarts de température.

Les supports sonores mouillés sont particulièrement sujets à la détérioration. Les moisissures peuvent se former dans un laps de temps de 24 heures. Pour éviter l'infestation, conserver ces matériaux dans un milieu froid et sec jusqu'à l'intervention de restauration. Avant de les essuyer, éliminez les impuretés et pour les nettoyer, employez exclusivement de l'eau distillée ou déminéralisée froide.

A part les marquages ou les étiquettes, enlevez le plus rapidement possible tout le matériel d'accompagnement en papier mouillé afin d'éviter la formation possible de moisissure. Outre aux moisissures, il existe le danger d'oxydation des revêtements en métal.

A différence du papier, les supports sonores mouillés ne peuvent pas être congelés, ni séchés au moyen de la cryodessiccation. Evitez quand même de les exposer à une source de chaleur pour les sécher. Encore humides ou même séchés, ne reproduisez pas les supports sans une analyse préventive de la part de personnel technique.

Les particules sèches, comme par exemple la suie, à la suite d'un incendie, ou la poussière causée par un tremblement de terre, se répandent dans l'ambiance et peuvent être facilement éliminées par un jet d'air. Conservez les supports sonores contaminés par ces particules dans un endroit isolé jusqu'au moment de l'intervention du nettoyage. N'éliminez pas ce genre de saleté au moyen de liquide. N'ouvrez pas les enveloppes ni les conteneurs exposés, jusqu'au moment où le risque de contamination par des particules sèches n'est pas éliminé car les matériaux qu'ils renferment ne sont peut-être pas encore contaminés.

Pour un nettoyage approfondi des bandes, il sera peut-être nécessaire de les sortir de leur noyau. Il faudra peut-être démonter le noyau des bobines, les cassettes ou les cartouches pour les nettoyer ou les substituer. Une bande sans son noyau devient très fragile et doit être nettoyée uniquement par du personnel qualifié et ne peut pas être rembobinée, reproduite ou emmagasinée avant d'avoir été parfaitement nettoyée.

Avant l'emmagasinage, la reproduction ou le nettoyage, les supports sonores doivent être acclimatés dans un local spécial, aux conditions climatiques stables.

Outre les menaces évidentes pour les supports sonores, en cas d'événements catastrophiques, il existe aussi la possibilité que le contrôle archivistique du matériel soit mis en danger. Les marquages et les informations reportées sur les étiquettes ou sur les conteneurs peuvent s'estomper ou même s'effacer; veillez donc soigneusement à leur récupération. Si vous sortez un support sonore de son conteneur pour le nettoyer, mettez une note qui documente l'objet de façon précise et contienne les informations nécessaire à son identification.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: