Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Technology

Principles of copying and restoration

The Swiss National Sound Archives creates, for archiving purposes, backup and working copies of any audio carriers that are in a precarious state or that may be requested by the users. If the time and means available allow it, a backup copy will be made of every original audio carrier. This copy will be stored in a separate place

 

Copying

78 rpm discs (shellac, acetates, etc.)

The disc, if its state of preservation allows it, is first of all washed. The state of preservation of the materials, the type of disc and the number of copies to be treated determine the choice of the type of washing process. Two Keith Monks devices are available for the brush washing of single discs and an ultrasonic device for the simultaneous treatment of several discs together. During this first treatment, the original cover of the disc, which is often in a bad shape, is replaced with an acid free paper envelope lined with polyethylene and an acid free cardboard cover.

All the materials that come into contact with the discs, including the liquids used for washing, have been studied and selected with care by the Swiss National Sound Archives and subsequently tested by EMPA (Federal Laboratory for Materials Testing and Research) to certify their suitability for long-term archiving.

Once the washing phase is concluded, the disc moves on to the audio studio, where it is examined under a microscope to determine the dimensions and shape of the groove and to verify the physical state of its surface. These measurements and checks allow us to choose the most suitable stylus for playing the disc. The indications on the label (brand, catalog and matrix numbers) allow us to set the equalization and rotation speed correctly. Lastly, in difficult cases, to obtain even better results, the geometry of the reading arm is optimised.

The turntable signal is converted from analog to digital and "leveled" to ensure the best dynamics and signal/interference relationship. The digital signal is recorded on high resolution WAV files. Those files will contain only what is extracted from a single document (disc or set of discs), and they will be considered as the first generation "archive copy". Any subsequent copying or processing will be derived from this copy.

All the working phases, as well as the equipment used and the adjustments made are documented to allow the exact copying process to be reconstructed even in the future. The time necessary to copy a 78 rpm disc can be quantified as 4 times the total duration of the disc. On average, therefore, considering a duration of 8 min for both sides, it takes 32 minutes of working time.

 

Microgroove discs (LPs, singles, maxi-singles, etc.)

The process is similar to that described for 78 rpm discs, but simpler. Microgroove discs can be washed without exceptions and in the re-packing phase only the inner envelope is replaced, as the outer cover often provides valuable information concerning the audio carrier. The stylus, equalization and rotation speed are standard. The time necessary for copying is generally equal to double the total duration of the disc.

 

Analog tapes (cassettes of various types, reels)

Every tape is first examined and tested physically. If it is very dirty and/or fragile, it is cleaned and treated with a lubricating liquid. It is then unwound and rewound to reduce the print through effect and to restore the winding tension. In a later step, the track configuration, equalization and reproduction speed are determined. In order to be able to handle every type of tape several reproduction devices are required with different mechanical and electronic characteristics. Once the most suitable device has been chosen and the necessary settings made, the tape is read and the signal converted from analog to digital. If necessary, the tapes are wound onto new reels made of a material that does not become electrostatically charged and that complies with archiving requirements. The rest of the process as well as the working times are the same as those described for microgroove discs, that is to say double the recorded time. In difficult cases, the times may be considerably extended.

 

Optical discs (CDs, DVDs, etc.)

The disc is examined visually and, if necessary, cleaned or a dedicated machine. The disc is copied directly in digital format onto a series of WAV files. This direct transfer allows the working times to be contained and, at the same time, assures the consistency of the recorded information. To avoid quantization errors due to the inclusion of digital converters in the copying chain, all documents that are originally created in digital form are copied maintaining their original format.

 

Other digital formats (Mini-Disc, cassettes DAT, etc.)

These audio carriers do not require, as a rule, any physical maintenance, so they can be read directly. In this case also, the transfer is done entirely in digital format.

 

Notes

When it began its activity, the Swiss National Sound Archives chose DAT cassettes, which had just been introduced on the professional market, for the creation of backup copies. The DAT cassettes are regularly tested by our technicians and even now continue to hold their own in the area of backup copies. In 2007, however, DAT cassettes, as happened with other formats before them, disappeared from the market. It has been therefore necessary to develop new solutions.

In 2005 we introduced a mass storage system, which replaced the use of DAT cassettes. This kind of solution offers many advantages, and we will list just a few of the most obvious among them: with mass storage it is possible for instance to save any original format in the form of a computer file; several users can work at the same time on the same document, even online; it is easier to plan and guarantee the preservation in time of the information, as computer tools enormously facilitate the necessary operation of periodic migration of the system content, imposed by technological evolution.

 

Restoration

The basic procedure for restoring an audio carrier is practically identical for every type of carrier. In the first phase - listening - the more obvious necessary actions are identified; the process then moves on to high definition copying on a computer system and spectroscopic analysis. Some (semi-)automatic modules exist that are used for reducing or eliminating common problems: they are the so-called declicker and decrackler modules, etc. Other operations are performed manually, such as, for instance, the elimination of transients through cuts, or the non linear compression/expansion of the sound and its filtering through equalizers of various types. The manual operations are carried out at the discretion of the technician and the end user and may require working times lasting up to 60 times the duration of the track (to correct 1 minute of modulation can take up to 1 hour, for instance).

The Swiss National Sound Archives remains consistent with its mandate even it does jobs of a commercial nature. The fundamental principle on which it bases its work is: the extraction of the best possible sound from the original carrier through the use of the most suitable reproduction device, and subsequent processing aimed at reconstructing a sound that is the most faithful possible to the original performance or production. Any other type of intervention is possible, but does not come within the scope of the tasks of the Swiss National Sound Archives.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Technique

Principes de copiage et restauration

La Phonothèque nationale suisse réalise, à des fins d'archivage, des copies de sécurité des supports sonores qui se trouvent dans un état précaire ou qui sont demandés par les usagers. Si le temps et les moyens le permettront, on effectuera une copie de sécurité de chaque support sonore original. Cette copie sera gardée dans un endroit séparé

Top of page

Le copiage

Disques 78 1/min (gomme-laque, acétates, etc.)

Le disque, si son état de conservation le permet, est tout d'abord lavé. L'état de conservation des matériaux, le type de disque et le numéro des exemplaires à traiter déterminent le choix du procédé de lavage. Deux appareils Keith Monks sont à disposition pour le lavage à brosses d'un seul disque et un appareil à ultrasons pour le traitement simultané de plusieurs disques. Durant cette première opération, l'emballage, souvent en mauvais état, est substitué par une enveloppe de papier exempt d'acide et polyéthylène et par une couverture en carton, également exempt d'acides.

Tous les matériaux qui entrent en contact avec les disques, y compris les liquides pour le lavage, ont été étudiés et choisis avec soin par les techniciens de la Phonothèque et ensuite testés par l'EMPA qui certifie que leur emploi est indiqué pour un archivage à long terme.

La phase du lavage terminée, le disque passe au studio audio où il est examiné au microscope dans le but de relever les dimensions et la forme du sillon et vérifier l'état physique de sa superficie. Ces mesures et vérifications permettent de choisir l'aiguille ou le saphir le mieux adapté. Les indications reportées sur l'étiquette (marque, numéro commercial et de matrice) permettent d'établir l'égalisation et la vitesse de rotation correctes. Pour terminer, dans les cas difficiles, pour obtenir un meilleur résultat, on optimise la géométrie du bras de lecture.

Le signal du tourne-disques est converti d'analogique à numérique et nivelé de façon à garantir la meilleure dynamique et le meilleur rapport signal/dérangement. Le signal numérique est enregistré sur fichier WAV à haute résolution. Ces fichiers sont destinés à conserver le contenu extrait d'un seul document (disque ou set de disques) et sera considérée comme "copie d'archives" de première génération. Chaque copiage ou élaboration successive sera dérivé de cette copie.

Toutes les phases du travail ainsi que les appareillages employés et les réglages seront documentés de façon à permettre plus tard la reconstruction exacte du processus du copiage. Le temps nécessaire pour copier un disque 78 1/min. peut être quantifié en 4 fois la durée totale du disque: donc en moyenne considérant une durée de 8 min pour les deux faces, on emploie 32 minutes de travail.

Top of page

Disques microsillons (LP, singles, maxi-singles, etc.)

Le procédé ressemble à celui décrit pour les disques 78/1 min. mais simplifié. Les disques microsillons peuvent être lavés sans exceptions et dans la phase du ré-emballage on procède simplement à la substitution de l'enveloppe interne, l'externe, en effet, reporte souvent de précieuses indications concernant le support sonore. L'aiguille de lecture, l'égalisation et la vitesse de rotation sont standard. Le temps nécessaire pour le copiage est en général égal au double de la durée totale du disque.

Top of page

Bandes analogiques (cassettes de divers types, bobine)

Chaque bande est tout d'abord examinée et testée physiquement. Si elle est très sale et/ou fragile, elle sera traitée avec un liquide lubrifiant et sera ensuite déroulée et rembobinée pour réduire l'effet d'écho et pour récupérer la tension d'enroulement. Dans la phase suivante on détermine la configuration des pistes, l'égalisation et la vitesse de reproduction. Pour pouvoir traiter tous les types de bandes, on doit disposer de plusieurs appareils de reproduction ayant des caractéristiques mécaniques et électroniques différentes. Une fois choisie la machine plus adaptée et effectués les réglages nécessaires, la bande est lue et le signal converti d'analogique à numérique. Si nécessaire, les bandes sont enroulées sur de nouvelles bobines faites de matériel non électrostatique et qui répond aux dispositions d'archivage. La suite du processus ainsi que les temps de travail sont égaux à ceux décrits pour les disques microsillons, c'est-à-dire 2 fois le temps enregistré. Dans les cas qui présentent des difficultés, les temps peuvent être multipliés considérablement.

Top of page

Disques optiques(CD, DVD, etc.)

Le disques est examiné à l'oeil nu et, si nécessaire, nettoyé avec un chiffon souple. Dans certains cas, pour nettoyer la superficie, on emploie un mélange d'eau et d'alcool isopropylique. Le disque est copié directement en numérique sur une série de fichiers WAV. Ce passage direct permet une économie de temps de travail et en même temps assure la consistance des informations. Pour éviter des erreurs de quantification dues à l'introduction de convertisseurs numériques dans la chaîne de copiage, tous les documents nés numériques sont copiés en maintenant leur format d'origine.

Top of page

Autres formats numériques (Mini-disques, cassettes DAT, etc..)

En général, ces supports ne nécessitent pas d'une manutention physique, ils peuvent donc être lus directement. Dans ce cas aussi, le renversement a lieu entièrement en numérique.

Top of page

Notes

Au début de son activité, la Phonothèque nationale suisse choisit les cassettes DAT sorties depuis peu sur le marché professionnel, pour la réalisation des copies de sécurité. Les cassettes DAT sont régulièrement testées par nos techniciens et restent, aujourd'hui encore, ce qu'il y a de mieux dans le domaine de la copie de sécurité. En 2007 toutefois, la cassette DAT disparût du marché comme c'était déjà advenu à d'autres formats. Il a donc fallu développer de nouvelles solutions.

En 2005, nous avons introduit un nouveau système de stockage de masse qui a remplacé les cassettes DAT. Les avantages de cette nouvelle solution sont multiples. Nous en signalons seulement quelques-uns parmi les plus évidents:

Top of page

La restauration

Le processus de base pour restaurer un support sonore est plus ou moins identique pour tous les types de supports. Dans la première phase d'écoute, on détermine les interventions nécessaires plus évidentes. On passe ensuite au copiage à haute définition dans un système informatique et à une analyse spectroscopique. Il existe certains modules (semi-) automatiques employés pour la réduction ou la suppression de dérangements communs: il s'agit de modules nommés «declicker », « decrackler », etc. D'autres interventions se réalisent manuellement comme, par exemple, la suppression de transitoires, par coupure ou encore la compression/expansion non linéaire du son et le filtrage au moyen d'égalisateurs de divers types. Les interventions manuelles sont à discrétion du technicien et du client et peuvent requérir des temps de travail allant jusqu'à 60 fois la durée de l'enregistrement (par exemple, pour corriger 1 minute de modulation, on peut employer jusqu'à 1 heure).

La Phonothèque nationale suisse reste aussi cohérente à son mandat quand il s'agit d'effectuer des travaux à fin commerciale. Le principe fondamental sur lequel elle se base est: l'extraction du meilleur son possible du support original, grâce à l'emploi de l'appareil de reproduction le plus adapté, un travail successif avec le but de reconstruire un son qui soit le plus fidèle possible à l'exécution originale. Tout autre type d'intervention est possible mais ne figure pas dans la sphère des tâches de la Phonothèque nationale suisse.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: