Tel. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Technical services

Restoration

The restoration of audio materials, unlike other applications, such as photography or printed matter, should be understood and is performed entirely at the level of content, that is to say of the sound itself, and not of the physical object that contains it.

The Swiss National Sound Archives has two restoration studios equipped with all the devices necessary for the various types of restoration (see below). However, it does not spontaneously make any changes that alter the original timbre of an audio document.

Two qualified technicians perform every single restoration operation in compliance with the "Principles of Copying and Restoration" published on this website. To optimize the operations, the Swiss National Sound Archives uses, at least in part, automated systems.

The restoration operations can be classified into two main categories: technical and artistic.

Technical restoration means, above all, the reduction or elimination of technical interference (rustle, clicks, pops, etc.) due largely to the wear or degradation of the original audio carrier, but without altering the sound spectrum, that is to say maintaining the quality and sound characteristics of the original recording.

Artistic restoration means, instead, a more selective operation, with different aims, to be established by the user at the beginning of the work. The reasons for opting for a restoration of this type may be commercial, scientific or for other considerations.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA - Swiss National Library NL


© Swiss National Sound Archives. All copyright of this electronic publication are reserved to the Swiss National Sound Archives, Lugano. Commercial use is prohibited.
The contents published in electronic form are subject to the same regulations as for printed texts (LDA). For information on copyright and rules of citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_en.htm

URL:

Tèl. +41 58 465 73 44 | fnoffice@nb.admin.ch

Logo FN

Prestations

Restauration

La restauration de matériel sonore, à différence d'autres champs d'application, comme par exemple la photographie ou la presse, est perçu et effectué uniquement au niveau du contenu, c'est-à-dire exclusivement du son et non de l'objet physique qui le contient.

La Phonothèque Nationale Suisse est dotée de deux studios de restauration équipés de tous les appareils nécessaires pour effectuer les différents types de restauration (voir à la suite), toutefois elle n'encourage pas spontanément des interventions aptes à altérer le timbre original d'un document sonore.

Deux techniciens qualifiés effectuent toutes les interventions de restauration en se conformant aux "Principes de copiage et restauration" publiés sur ce site. Pour optimiser les opérations, la Phonothèque emploie, en partie, des systèmes automatisés.

Les interventions de restauration peuvent être classées en deux catégories principales: techniques et artistiques.

Pour restauration technique, on entend principalement la réduction ou l'élimination des dérangements techniques (bruissements, click, pop, etc.) dus en grande partie à l'usure ou à la dégradation du support sonore original, sans attaquer le spectre sonore en maintenant la qualité et les caractéristiques sonores de l'enregistrement original.

Pour restauration artistique, on entend une intervention plus accentuée, avec finalités différentes, à établir au préalable avec le client. Les raisons qui font opter pour une restauration de ce genre peuvent être commerciales, scientifiques ou autres.

Logo Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft, 
Conféderation Suisse, Confederazione Svizzera, Confederaziun svizra


Département fédéral de l'intérieur DFI - Bibliothèque nationale suisse BN


© Phonothèque nationale suisse. Tous les droits d'auteur de cette publication électronique sont réservés à la Phonothèque nationale suisse, Lugano. L'usage commercial est interdit.
Les contenus publiés sur support électronique sont soumis aux mêmes règles que les textes imprimés (LDA). Pour informations sur le copyright et les normes de citation: www.fonoteca.ch/copyright_fr.htm

URL: